Aussie Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I had to write in about this one -- it's truly outstanding. Unlike some others, I find it too sweet for my tastebuds so I cut the sugar in the crust to 1/4 cup (or less). Also, I've tried it with 2 whole eggs instead of 4 yolks. I separated the eggs, beat the whites and folded them in before baking. Same taste - just a bit lighter. Finally, why not use the lime zest since you're using the limes? Nevertheless, however you tweak it, a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
by far the best key lime i have ever had - bar none - little more work - but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Great recipe! The exposed crust got a little overcooked because I left the pie in the oven the full cooking time to make sure the filling was cooked. Next time I'll leave it in for a few less minutes. Got LOADS of compliments, I squeezed the juice from miniature key limes, which although tedious, made it taste super fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is phenomenal. The crust tastes like a macaroon. Don't change anything here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
VERY GOOD RECIPE VERY EASY TO FOLLOW DON'T CHANGE A THING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Sorry, but way too sweet - made my teeth hurt -- couldn't believe all the other reviews that said it was too tart -- maybe a problem for me, as the crust didn't bake evenly -- the top edge was a tiny bit too crunchy and the bottom (under the filling) was not cooked enough -- my oven is correctly calibrated and I don't usually have this trouble -- Any suggestions? I love the filling, but will try it with a shortbread crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This recipie was GREAT! The crust was so tasty. I'm not a big fan of really strong lime pie, so I made a deep-dish version with a can of cherry pie filling on the bottom and a single batch of the lime filling on top. It was still a bit tart, though. It had a nice fizz too because of the baking soda. Overall, I would say that I would definately make this again, but probably lower the amount of lime juice. A tip I learned the second time around: DO NOT USE A SPRINGFORM PAN! It will be a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This is a little more interesting than they standard lime pie. The cookie crust gives a new twist. I think it is even better when made with key lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
What a lovely and refreshing desert this is to serve on a summer evening! After reading some of the other reviews, and knowing I don't like things that are too tart, I left out the lemon zest, perfect! The crust makes this pie. For those watching calories ( though I know its still high because of the sweetend condensed milk.) in one of the pies I used Splenda, in place of sugar. I could tell no difference between the two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
THE YUMMIEST! LOVED This pie! Very easy to make for a novice pie maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States