Aussie Breakfast Egg Mess Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Only things I changed in this recipe is use chopped pepperoni in place of the bacon (I forgot to take the bacon out of the freezer the night before....whoops!) and omitted the ketchup. Tasty eggs. I sprinkled some Tabasco over mine for a little morning kick. This would be great for a hangover cure paired with a beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great for breakfast and definitely "a quick and easy spin on scambled eggs" as the submitter states. I cut the recipe in half and cut back on the veggies just a bit as it was more veggies than eggs. I added a little minced garlic, but other than that it was delicious with a side of whole grain toast and OJ! Next time I might put this "egg mess" in a tortilla for a nice breakfast wrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I wouldn’t exactly call this “a savory makeover” of scrambled eggs as the submitter describes. After all, it’s just scrambled eggs with stuff in it. I think a half cup each of onions, mushrooms, tomatoes, bell peppers and bacon is a HUGE amount for a mere four eggs! I would recommend the additions of each of these ingredients “to taste.” I took a big-time short cut on this, however, so other than the bacon I didn’t have to be concerned about chopping and measuring anything. I made extras of “Personal Portobello Pizza” last night expressly for this purpose and I was grateful for the ease in which it allowed me to get breakfast on the table this morning with a minimum of fuss or muss. A “mess” this Aussie Breakfast Egg Mess” is, but this mess sure was good. Still, because I believe 2-1/2 cups of add-ins to be extraordinarily heavy-handed for just four eggs, I can only rate this 3-stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a really good mess. I love this recipe. When I read it I thought, I don't have all the ingredients so I had to substitute a few things. I did not have mushrooms but I had some hot peppers so I added that in. I made this yesterday and I am making it today. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Tried this recipe and it's by far the best breakfast food I've ever had. I did vary it up a bit; I used olive oil instead of butter with a clove of garlic, and added a little dill, crushed red pepper & thyme from a spice rack. It came out awesome with shredded cheddar mixed in at the end. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This has awesome flavor and is super easy to make!!! The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
It's neat that I found this recipe today. I was planning on making a variation of this for supper tonight. I make it every once in a while and wrap it up in a tortilla, but I like your suggestion with the bacon and cheese. I usually use just cheddar, but I'll be trying some of the other tonight. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Yum! Great breakfast or anytime meal! Easy and quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good, I used cherry tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was delicious! I did make a few changes as I did not have some of the ingredients on hand. Instead of the Parmesan cheese, I used boccocini and cheddar cheese. I did not have any mushrooms or bacon. I used 3 baby bell peppers in yellow, red and orange (looks pretty), hot pepper and lamb slices. Everything else as stated in the recipe. I bet this would be really good with crumbled sausage as well. Will be making this again! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States