Aussie Beef and Peppers with Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My husband and I loved this dish! I didn't have a flank steak, so I used a flat iron steak and I pan-fried it first and then cut it in strips. I wanted it rare, and I was afraid that the strips would over-cook. The instructions read: "simmer until the sauce thickens". There really wasn't any sauce to speak of from one can of tomatoes, so I added some V8 juice to create some. I increased the amount of paprika too: 2 tsp sweet-and-smoky, and 1 tsp of hot paprika. But that's just personal preference. This dish was scumptious. DH had two helpings at dinner and then ate the leftovers for breakfast this morning. A real keeper. Thanks, Jayda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
We really enjoyed this dish. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacydross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
i loved it this was my first recipe that i have actual did by myself but it was great i changed it up a bit i added cayenne pepper instead of the paprika for a little hot zang and i couldnt find the gnocchi so i add a differnt pasta but other then that it was great i loved it thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrillz37
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great tasting dish. I followed the recipe but substituted or omitted a few things using what I had on hand. It turned out great and can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjw11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoystown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was my first time making gnocchi, but I don't like the kind with pesto, so I was happy to find this recipe. It was so good I was literally licking my fingers! ( and also, my fingers somehow got into it) However I did substitute a small pot roast which I cut into slices instead of the steak, because I literally ruin every steak I make. It worked though! Easy weeknight recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My family decided how many stars to give, and they really liked this one. It had a very interesting taste using the paprika. Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
No doubt this needs salt ‘n pepper, but sometimes it is possible to rush things and this is one of those times. The quick cooking process doesn’t allow the flavors time to come together so the end result is very bland. I tossed everything back in the skillet (minus the gnocchi), added a little water and let it simmer with a covered lid for about an hour. The added cooking time really enhanced the flavor making it more like a pepper steak and the meat was nice and tender. If I were doing it over, I would start by browning the meat, add all of the ingredients except the gnocchi and simmer in a covered pot for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Not crazy about the gnocchi, would try broad egg noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I used green peppers instead of red and yellow because they were way too expensive, but it still turned out great. I won't make this with gnocchi again, it was just too plain... I'll probably try what another reviewer suggested and use egg noddles instead. Other than the tasteless gnocchi, this recipe was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed the gnocchi (never had it before); however I found the recipe as followed to be a bit bland. I added a bit of butter to the olive oil for the saute and added some Merlot to make more sauce. I will make it again, but I will definitely "BAM" it with more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States