Aush (Afghani Chili) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I didn't have the time to simmer for quite as long as the recipe called for, and I didn't have mint in the house, so I would like to try it again, but it was excellent!!! I was leary about the amount of cumin, because I really don't like cumin, but I added the full amount and was very impressed. Easy dish to make and extremely flavourful. I definitely recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Really delicious. I used the recipe for easy garam masala from this site and it was delicious. I also added a tin of tomato paste and a cup or so of corn for personal taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We really liked this very different dish. I followed the recipe except I used ground turkey, added salt and served it over basmati rice. Interestingly, I "Googled" Aush and learned that this is pretty close to the real deal. All recipes called for pasta rather than rice, but since we prefer rice with this flavor combination, that's what I used. Maybe next time I will go with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The recipe was delicious. I followed it just as it is on here, except I added chopped cabbage (since I had half a head in the fridge) and about a tablespoon of brown sugar since it came out a tad bit spicy from the peppers flakes. It turned out delicious with a hint of sweet and spicy and YUM... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelscry85

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Awesome recipe. Would be good with egg noodles instead of fettucine. Smells great while cooking and tastes just as good! Thanks for this unique, yummy one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was ok, and it was fun to try something different. I halved the recipe. It was fairly spicy (my 5-yr-old wouldn't eat it), and the mint and nutmeg/cinnamon flavors were interesting. I liked the fettuccine noodles. I would add more chick peas if I make it again - they add nice balance to the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Doesn't look anything like North American style chili so don't be expecting that. Still delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Nice and spicy, just the way we like it. Very aromatic as it's simmering those 3-6 hours...and it tasted as good as it smelled. Thanks for the recipe...I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except for using linguini instead of fettuccini. I thought it smelled amazing throughout the house. However, the flavours did not come out so much due to the lack of salt. I added some to our plates after tasting it, and it made a big difference. I don't know why, but pasta in this dish also felt a bit odd to me. I think I would make this sauce again but maybe with some basmati rice on the side or something. Also, I would cook it all in the same pot instead of in two pots, which means I would add the onions to the meat and continue this way, step by step, but all in one pot. I doubt it would make a difference, since I've done that to so many other recipes that asked for separate pots. Never made a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Easy, yummy, healthy. Works well in the crockpot - just brown the hamburger first. As already noted, there is a recipe on allrecipes for "easy garam masala" if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States