Aush (Afghani Chili) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I don't normally like chili.....but this was awesome. I served it with store bought garlic naan. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
It had too much nutmeg. Possibly made the wrong way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The unique taste was wonderful. I substituted basil for mint and let it simmer 3 hours. It made a lot more than 6 servings but I'm not complaining. Thanks so much for sharing such a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was OK, and the mint made it "interesting," and the garam masala lent an Indian taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Awesome Recipe! Read multiple reviews and decided to stick to the recipe as written as far as ingredients and measurements. Only change I made was start is all in one pot; browned ground tukery, onions and garlic 1st then added all the other ingredients. Then transferred to a slow cooker for 4+ hours on low and served over rice with sour cream on the side. Loved the flavor combinations. Thanks Bonnie C ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
yum! great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.castlen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Such a great stew and a fun change from traditional ground beef dishes. The only modifications I made were to use 2 cans of garbanzo beans, and slightly less cumin - 1 1/4ish tbsp. Great flavor, no need for salt to please our palates. We ate it over orzo, with a dollop of sour cream stirred in. Perfect leftovers too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was excellent, but I think only because I reduced the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp - more than that would have made this way too spicy. I used ground turkey, doubled the garlic, used fresh chopped spinach and a half package (about 8 oz.) of whole wheat fettucini. I didn't stir in the sour cream but rather just add a dollop when serving. Oh, and because I didn't read through the recipe, I just added the pasta to the meat/tomato mixture and let it cook that way so I had to add a cup of water to have enough liquid to cook the pasta. Really enjoyed this! A little exotic, very filling and relatively quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Pretty good. I thought it was a tad spicy for us; I'd cut back on the red pepper next time. I also thought the chili powder and cumin overpowered the other spices, so I'd cut those down and increase the garam masala and the mint. I love mint in meat dishes, and added some fresh at the table, but I thought it still needed more. A very interesting variation on chili; thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I thought this was really good and not overly spicy. I added extra garlic and used egg noodles. I'd consider making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States