Aunty Pasto's Seafood Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was just okay to me. It tasted almost store bought (ala Stouffer's), which isn't necessarily a good thing in my book. Rather salty and somehow, at the same time, bland. It's not a bad recipe, it just isn't very "fresh" or home-made tasting to me. Probably won't do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I foil lined 2 disposable bread loaf pans to have a thicker stack of lasagna. I did sweat the onion and mushrooms first and used half the cream cheese and the whole 1 lb (1%) of cottage cheese, 2 eggs and just one 18oz.can of Progresso creamy mushroom soup. No milk but a little extra wine. I had lump crab but decided to use just shrimp to see how it all turned out. To address the "runny" reviews I built in the pans with uncooked regular noodles and let them set for about an hour and a half before cooking. I let them cool and reheated for dinner. Texture was great, nice and creamy, plenty rich. Did not add salt. Nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made it with two eggs, 1 1/2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and 1/4 cup milk. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The only reason I gave it less than 5 stars is because I didn't think it was very flavorful. I even used lobster, crab and shrimp. My dinner guests liked it though. Like other reviewers suggested, I used an additional egg and swaped one of the soups for cream of shrimp. I baked it the night before and reheated at 350 for 30mins and didn't have an issue with the texture being to runny. Maybe next time I'll add some spinache, or other veggies to flavor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I followed the advice of other reviewers and used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and it didn't turn out runny. I also added shallot and garlic to the onion to give it some more flavor. Great recipe, was a big hit for our cooking night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENAE78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was a good recipe. I halfed the soup, using only one can. I sauted the mushrooms with a splash of Worchestershire, garlic and onions...then I deglazed them with cream sherry instead of wine. I used cottage/cream cheese and 2 packages of crab meat mixed in. I used about a dozen shrimp chopped. It wasn't runny at all. Very delicious. I added the mushroom soup to the mushrooms instead of using it how the recipe calls for it. Oh, I also used a tubular pasta because I didn't have lasagna noodles. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This is good. Great taste. Make sure you do what you need to to keep any moisture out. Drain the shrimp! I needed 9 lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Great versitile recipe. I used rigatoni instead of lasagna. I love garlic so I sauteed the garlic with the onion in step 1. To the cheese mixture I added some chopped frozen mixed peppers, and frech chopped broccoli to the mushroom mixture. I used non fat cottage cheese and cream cheese and whipped these items together in my kitchen aid with 1/4 c of egg beaters. The end result was wonderful and my boyfriend didn't even realize it was low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I halved this recipe since it was just me and my husband and still had much leftover. Overall, it's a good recipe. The next time, I will use real lump crab meat, instead of the canned stuff that is very flaky and gets lost in this dish. My husband enjoyed this dish and had seconds and thirds. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lasagna

See how to create a beautiful, classic lasagna in just a few easy steps.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States