Auntie's Buttermilk Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Are you kidding me?? This is by far THE BEST cake I have ever made from scratch! And I have tried a lot of homemade cake recipes. I did make some slight alterations: I added 2 Tablespoons of coconut cream pudding mix(that is the dry mix) and about 1/4 c milk. I didn't think there was enough liquid. All the rest of the directions I followed exactly. BTW, for those who don't like coconut, you can't detect any coconut flavor in the cake at all. My family LOVED this cake. They ate them very fast and kept commenting everytime they had a piece how delicious it was. I added a frosting that made it even better. It has a caramel flavor and is called buttermilk frosting. I will post it for anyone who wants to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2000
I've tried this recipe twice. Once in a 13x9 inch pan and once in a bundt pan. Each time additional time of up to 15-20 minutes was required to bake batter completely. My family and friends thought this cake was not their favorite. I don't think I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This has to be exactly the recipe my great granny always used! It was lost several years ago and I've been looking ever since. This is perfect the way it is, absolutely no need to change a thing! I didn't have the problem of needing extra baking time either. The perfect comfort food! I top it with the buttermilk sauce from a recipe on this site-Apple Cake with Buttermilk Sauce. That's how granny always served it, and the sauce recipe was with the cake recipe! Thank you for giving me back a piece of my childhood! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was a hit at work - we had several parents come in and they raved about this. I didn't have cake flour but I did sift regular flour several times. The folding in of the egg whites is crucial to keep it light. Like someone else said, she used the Buttermilk sauce from another recipe so I'm adding it here. BUTTERMILK SAUCE: 1 cup sugar 1/2 cup butter or margarine 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 cup buttermilk Bring all ingredients to a boil then simmer briefly, stirring frequently. Immediately, spoon over cake. (I did this while the cake was still warm in the pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I used regular flour and did not sift. I used four egg whites and made sure they were stiff. The cake turned out perfect, and the taste and texture was exactly what I expected. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
What a great way to use leftover buttermilk! I stirred in about a cup of chocolate chips to the batter to make it more palatable to my teenagers. When I bake this again, I may cut back on the vanilla and almond extracts to about 1/2 teaspoon each. The flavorings overpowered the cake just a little. I baked this in a bundt pan for about 40 minutes. I topped the cooled cake with a simple glaze made from 1 cup of powdered sugar and about 2tbsp orange juice with just a dash of orange extract. Very attractive on my pedestal cake dish and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This cake wasn't my cup of tea. I've been trying to find the perfect vanilla cake and they all come out too "egg-y". This one was egg-y as well. The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I've made this a couple of times, but added four whole eggs, omitted the almond extract, and calculated the best baking time at 28 minutes (in my oven, anyway!). Also, topped it off with a lemon glaze--a simple mixture of lemon juice and powdered sugar to taste. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I loved this cake for the fact that it was delicate, moist, and not too sweet. I only sifted the flour twice, and I used all purpose. I added a lemon/confection sugar icing to it which gave it a nice touch. I'll keep this in my repertoire. And it was pretty easy, though I used alot of bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
WOW!! I love love love this cake. I used this recipe last weekend for a wedding cake and everyone commented on how good it was!! I used butter instead of shortening, and just added the egg whites when I was creaming the butter and sugar (yes I"m very lazy), no almond, and I thought it was perfect. The ladies said it was a dream to slice!! I really think the younger generation is so used to eating bakery/boxed cake mixes, that they really don't appreciate this denser cake. My only regret is that I can't give it six stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States