Auntie Willie's Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This can be so EASY and Elegant! I agree with KK's comment on Jan. 10, 2011, it really should be made in a spring-form pan (or a deep, round casserole?). The dough should be sticky -- use your finger tips to draw it up the sides of the pan and pat any cracks or holes together. The crust on the sides will taste like buttery sugar cookies, the bottom will absorb all the fruit juices, and the top crumbles are lovely. Three different affects from the same crust mixture. You can make this with just four big cooking apples, such as Cortlands, or fill the spring-form pan with eight. Don't forget the cinnamon sprinkled on the apples (not listed in the ingredients). I've made it several times now -- it is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Here's a huge hint with this recipe. The Dutch don't really use a pie plate for this style of pie. They use a springform pan. You just simply pat the dough into the greased and floured pan and then add your apples. It's quick and delicious. You might have to place a piece of aluminum foil on the top to keep it from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This turned out SO good! Our homeschool group participates each year in an 'International Festival' and this year my family chose Holland. I searched and searched for recipes, and found this one, and boy am I glad I did. Ive had multiple requests for the recipe from the moms in my group. I had no problem whatsoever with the dough, and it turned out perfectly...ONE SUGGESTION...you definitely DO NOT need that many apples. I would suggest for One recipe, to use 4-5 large apples. 8 just will not fit! Raisins added are a plus, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This pie just did not turn out! The dough was a wet mess, and I probably needed a deep dish pie pan which was not stated in the recipe. The sugar topping did not leave the crunch I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by craftercook
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
easy.fast and very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I've made this recipe many times either in a 9" x 9" dish or as individual tarts and it has always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
The crust was very greasy, but after I let it sit a few minutes, it firmed up some and I could use it. I think mixing the cinnamon into the apples before putting into the pie crust would have helped and I had to bake the two pies for about 20 minutes longer than stated and I used 9 1/2' pie plates. Taste was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
it sure was quick and easy as promised, and it tasted good enough. but I must have got something wrong: I could not possibly find enough room in the small quantity of pastry for so many "large apples" as directed so I put only six, and not large at all...so I had a very little apple pie, more similar to an apple crumb than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I halved this recipe in order to make a single 9" pie. Either the measurements given were wrong or the dough is meant to be very wet. It was difficult to work with and was very greasy. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I made it twice, and the bottom crust always got very wet and soggy. I won't make it anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States