Aunt Zula's Christmas Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I thought that this was one of the best sugar cookie recipes that I have ever tried. I liked that the dough didn't have to be refigerated before rolling it out. That makes it probably the fastest sugar cookie to make. These are meant to be iced. I highly recommend using the Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies on this website. Using these two together I have decorated cookies for Valentine's Day, Halloween, and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe was yummy! I actually made it for 144 servings (288 cookies) for family and gift giving. wow. a luscious cutout cookie, that improved as the days went on...it did not disintigrate or get crumbly and was a dream to decorate. As it is not too sweet, the icing was the treat, and it got an A-1 rating by the hubby and kids for dunking in milk or hot cocoa. Very addictive cookies. YUMMY! (Note: blend all ingredients very carefully as you go if you're making a mega-batch, especially!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
This is a fantastic recipe for making a simple cutout cookie as a base for a flavorful icing. I substituted butter for shortening and added a pinch of baking powder to puff them up a little bit. I did need to refrigerate the dough before rolling it out. When they cooled them I mixed up a thin icing of confectioner's sugar, corn syrup, a touch of juice, and some food coloring. The cookie is perfect for a fruity icing since it is not to sweet. The icing hardens and the cookies look and taste as though they're from a bakery. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Easy to make but the flavor is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Great recipe! Cookies are delicious, light and crisp. Easy to make. One hint - the dough was rather sticky for rolling out, I had to use quite a bit of flour for dusting the pin & the table top. Other than that, excellent recipe. I will make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this recipe last night/today (I usually cook at midnight or.. 3AM! haha) The only thing is, adding the eggs to the recipe, I found that I only needed to add one egg. This maybe was because the eggs they sell in my country are sort of big, well I bet in the US they're bigger haha but I seriously thaught that if I added the other egg I would screw up the recipe :C adding the flour the dough was kind of falling apart a little bit but when I 'kneaded' it a while longer that didn't happen anymore. I was too sleepy to bake them last night so I baked them this morning, and instead of icing I decorated them with some colored sugar, they turned out really nice! My family really loved them, and I think I'm going to use this recipe again for Valentine's or something ;>! Thank you SO much for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Great recipe. I used butter instead of shortening. Not too sweet, which is great because everyone usually adds icing etc. Perfect when you're in a time crunch because they don't need to be chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShayDream

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
the best sugar cookie recipe i have tryed so far, i would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I tried these cookies for the first time and I ended up making two batches!!! They were so easy and they rolled out just perfectly even for me!!!(I am not the most patient when it comes to rolling out dough!!) Once frosted they were delicously moist and perfectly sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is so easy to make and, with an adequately floured surface, easy work with. I used 1/2 butter crisco and 1/2 regular crisco for more flavor. I've used this recipe for a few years now, I think it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States