Aunt Wanda's Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I had a turkey carcass that I was going to have to toss or use. I found this recipe but didn't want to go shopping so I used what I had on hand. I added escarole, scallions, celery, carrots, salt and pepper and torellini...it was one of the best soups I ever made. I think the escarole and torellini made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is great! Everyone in my family liked it, and the kids wanted to take it to school for lunch the next day. I cooked it as is although I left it on the stove longer, and then seasoned to taste. Add more water and you'll have more broth. No need to add bouillon or broth; you are making broth! Leave the veggies in the soup. I don't know why you would strain out the veggies unless you just want the broth for some other recipe! You could add any vegetable you have on hand, although the recipe as written is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe makes me think of the story of STONE SOUP. Substitutions may be made freely for the green beans, spinach or cabbage with things like broccoli, parsley, cauliflower, onion, collards, etc. I seasoned the soup with Creole seasoning, rosemary, tyme, bay leaf and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It was very good. I cooked carcass 90 minutes or more at low with carrots, onions, and celery. Tthen I removed the carcass and strained the pot so that broth remained. Then I added fresh set of the veggies, rice, tarragon, and pepperand and cooked it 40 min longer. Meanwhile I removed rest of meat off of the carcass. I added meat back as I served it. I like the dark meat and hubby likes the white meat. I liked the spinach, cabbage, and string beans in the soup. Give my best to Aunt Wanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Fantastic!! We were eating it for days it was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
As is this recipe is a great inspiration. However, I did things slightly different and it made a great soup. Here is what I did...I used the carcass from my Crock Pot Turkey Breast and all of the juice in the bottom of the crock pot, 1 box of chicken broth, 3 bay leaves, 2 carrots, 2 ribs celery, 1 tsp poultry seasoning and cracked black pepper, brought to a boil for 1 hour. Drained out the bones etc and disgarded. Then refrigerated stock overnight and skimmed. Then I dumped stock in my crock pot and added two cans mixed veggies drained and about 2 cups of turkey I got off of the carcus and cooked all day on low. Just before sserving I dumped in two cups of cooked white rice. And walla a great turkey rice soup. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amelia Court House, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
very good added sauteed onion and collards did not have cabbage and spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tester36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I cooked the carcass, and pieces that had meat on them (legs, wings) in a pressure cooker with a few cups of prepared organic "Better than Bullion" chicken flavor for 20 min (15 would be enough). The bird was 18 lbs and had been injected with garlic herb marinade and deep fried. Picked and removed bones and added the following: 3 stalks celery and 1/2 large onion sauteed in olive oil until crisp tender, 4 carrots, sliced and microwaved in a little of the broth for 4 minutes, a couple of cups of fresh chopped baby spinach, 1.5 cups cooked rice and half a pkg of frozen peas. Skimmed the fat and heated until the peas were done, DELICIOUS! No seasoning needed to be added except pepper if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Good, but kind of bland. Had to doctor with herbs and chicken stock. Not enough broth in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
A bit too bland for my gang.I had to add a tablespoon of sage and 2t of garlic powder, more turkey stock and fewer green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States