Aunt Wanda's Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Excellent. Make the day after Thanksgiving or freeze the carcass/skin, then defrost to make recipe later. Use a crock pot/slow cooker (or pressure cooker) & make it even easier on yourself. Just make certain you cover the carcass entirely with water. Sometimes I use 3 parts water & 1 part canned broth to enhance flavor. I use a strainer over a bowl to strain out the bones/skin & retain the yummy soup. This is easier than trying to pick out bones by hand, unless you have a big, Chinese strainer "spoon". This works for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Personally, I make my broth the way PatsyK describes below. The only difference is that prior to simmering the bones and stock veggies, I roast the broken up carcass/skin/meat in the oven at a high heat, turning regularly. This adds a really good flavor to the stock, and also turns it a nice golden brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I added potatoes and onions - yums! You can pretty much throw anything into the pot; so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
this turkey soup is absolutely the best !! its easy to make. my husband made this soup for dinner one night, it was great!! He usally doesnt cook - so this was a treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The way it is written will take a lot of effort for someone who doesnt know how to cook, but this is a good recipe, just needs to be re-written to those that need to be told to do 1, 2, 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
This is a good recipe. I used about 10 cups of water (I had a 12 lb meaty turkey carcass) which was a lot more than the recipe specified. It's a great basic recipe, I added a little cabbage and freshly cracked black pepper and a little minced garlic. Really tasty. Made enough for me & my best friend for lunch. My thanks to Aunt Wanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This soup was very good. My husband and mother loved it. I will make it again the next time I have a turkey carcass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
delicious soap. easy to make and a definite delight over eating turkey sandwiches for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Hello! I havent even finished cooking it yet, the soup is still trying to boil but I tried the juice, and it takes great! I had to doctor the recipe a bit for my home ingredients. I added a can of carrots, carrots and peas, 8 oz frozen italian cut green beans, 2 cups rice, 1 can chicken noodle soup (totally not necessary, great before I added it honestly,but I wanted to kick up the flavor) sage, meat tenderizer, italian seasoning, salt, pepper, chili pepper. a dab of mexican hot sauce. Come to think of it this sounds like a new recipe, lol! But I used your base, I had no idea what to do with this turkey carcass. Thanks so much Aunt Wanda!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I used this recipe with a few changes based on other reviews. Omit the rice. Add wide egg noodles the last 15 minutes. I used the spices that I would use with chicken soup. Oregano,basil,bay leaves,majoram,ground thyme,salt,pepper and a little lemon juice. Tastes great and made a whole pot of soup with what I would have thrown away. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States