Aunt T's D.W.I. Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Most awesome, I wouldn't suggest this for children as it is soaked in pure rum...with all it's alcohol content. Ten ounces of rum in the glaze and a 1/4 cup in the mix is almost a whole pint. Be careful, and remember that this cake is supposed to serve 14. I've read that some cooks had a problem with the glaze; it's almost like making candy to make this glaze, you need to boil down the ingredients...the mixture will bubble furiously, and it needs to for several minutes before it will set as a candied glaze (not the easiest for an inexperienced cook). If you need practice on glazing, read up; preparing the glaze correctly will help so this cake won't become a soggy mess...(as some reviewers have stated) It is most awesome and deserves to be made correctly and served at every winter holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Wonderful in every way. Nice weight, texture and great combinations with the spices and nuts. I've added this one to one of the many cakes I make for the holidays. Did have a suggestion -- add the glaze by injection. I had about half the glaze left over. Perfect. I had a friend make this but I guess they did not follow instuctions and it did not work, but it was the best when I made it and my friend loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I was asked to bake the traditional Rum Cake and I want to surprise my family with something more impressive, I made it, this recipe was a hit. But I think that for the next time I will lower the glaze ingredients, because is a little bit too much of glaze, I didn't use it all in the cake, so what I did is reheated when I served the cake and if someone ask me I will drip it as a sauce over the cake, that I decorate with chantilly cream and fruits (strawberries and kiwis).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERY PLATA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
AWESOME! AND SO YUMMY! I had never made a rum cake before and wanted to try before Christmas gets here. My husband said it's the best rum cake he's ever had. When it was time to add the glaze I inserted a teeny funnel in the holes and put about 1/4 cup at a time in. It took a few minutes longer but was well worth the wait. This is NOT for your kid's birthday party! Thank you for a great holiday recipe. I made this a second time this week and it was fabulous! This time I let it sit about 20 hours prior to serving. The texture was wonderful and it held it's shape well. The flavor was out of this world - sweet and spicy flavor was perfect. I used spiced rum this time. To make this work you really need to put some care and time into it. If you do, you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tryna P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I was extremely disappointed. It turned out to be a soggy mess and smelled so strong of alcohol we could not even eat it. Will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This has become one of our favourite desserts! It's well worth the effort and wait. For a healthier version... substitute the 1/2 cup of vegetalbe oil for 1 cup mashed over-ripe bananas OR 3/4 cup apple sauce OR a little more than 1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt. Some great additions to the recipe that I've tried include adding Coconut, Mashed Bananas, Chocolate Chips, Chopped Pecans or Raspberry Puree. It's been delicious every time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
I do not know what I did wrong in preparing this cake, but it turned out horredously. Maybe it was just my expectations of what I like in a rum cake. I don't know. I ended up with not a glazed cake but a soggy cake sitting in a puddle of sugared rum. The glaze never crystallized. Although I do like the taste of rum I could not even make myself eat a single bite because the smell of the alcohol was SO strong. With all the good reviews though, I may have just done something wrong. I had to throw out the whole cake though because nobody in the house would even try it and I won't try it again, just in case this is what it's supposed to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
WOW! This is the best rum cake I've ever had. I used dark rum and coconut rum, and the smell is incredible. I could eat the whole cake myself! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this recipe for our Thanksgiving get-together and it was a great hit. I added a cup and a half of raisins soaked in rum for 48 hours, and that increased the cooking time slightly, your results may vary. By the time the cake had soaked up most of the rum glaze, the cake had doubled in weight. I think that this is going to become a staple of celebrations, especially ones where people don't have to drive. Thanks for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Love this cake! I use Captain Morgan's Tattoo Black Rum. It is full of spice - so tasty. Depending on the group I'm bringing cake to, I will cut back a bit on the butter and add more rum for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States