Aunt T's D.W.I. Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I thought the spice & rum combination was more than I wanted for a rum cake, but I did get excellent reviews from my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
It was really good.I baked it for our Chrismas Party at work and everyone said that is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladan M Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I really like this cake and I have made this for several friends and they keep coming back for more! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
It was gone in less than 2 minutes! Everyone loved it. I gave it a low kid rating because of the alcohol content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Great combination of spice and rum,and very moist. We loved it!!! Especially the children, they couldn't get enough of it. Makes a great food gift by using color plastic wrap. A definite holiday tradition with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is wonderful! It was a big hit. Great slightly reheated with some ice cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Spices and rum are a bad combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
I do not know what I did wrong in preparing this cake, but it turned out horredously. Maybe it was just my expectations of what I like in a rum cake. I don't know. I ended up with not a glazed cake but a soggy cake sitting in a puddle of sugared rum. The glaze never crystallized. Although I do like the taste of rum I could not even make myself eat a single bite because the smell of the alcohol was SO strong. With all the good reviews though, I may have just done something wrong. I had to throw out the whole cake though because nobody in the house would even try it and I won't try it again, just in case this is what it's supposed to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I was asked to bake the traditional Rum Cake and I want to surprise my family with something more impressive, I made it, this recipe was a hit. But I think that for the next time I will lower the glaze ingredients, because is a little bit too much of glaze, I didn't use it all in the cake, so what I did is reheated when I served the cake and if someone ask me I will drip it as a sauce over the cake, that I decorate with chantilly cream and fruits (strawberries and kiwis).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERY PLATA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I was extremely disappointed. It turned out to be a soggy mess and smelled so strong of alcohol we could not even eat it. Will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States