Aunt T's D.W.I. Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I have made this cake on several occasions with rave reviews from family and friends. I have never had a soggy cake as some have described. The cake is always moist and I think the combination of the spices and rum is fantastic. However, be forewarned that this cake smells and tastes strongly of rum, and therefore those who do not particularly like the taste of rum may not like this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
After serving this cake at a holiday party many of my guest found it too strong and I sent 80% of it home with my brother. Well, he called the next day and begged me to please bake him another. He LOVED it and can't wait to "pour up a slice" to toast in the new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! Warning you should be 21 or older to eat this! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Very good but I think I like drinking my rum with coke better than eating it in a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
WOW! This is the best rum cake I've ever had. I used dark rum and coconut rum, and the smell is incredible. I could eat the whole cake myself! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Most awesome, I wouldn't suggest this for children as it is soaked in pure rum...with all it's alcohol content. Ten ounces of rum in the glaze and a 1/4 cup in the mix is almost a whole pint. Be careful, and remember that this cake is supposed to serve 14. I've read that some cooks had a problem with the glaze; it's almost like making candy to make this glaze, you need to boil down the ingredients...the mixture will bubble furiously, and it needs to for several minutes before it will set as a candied glaze (not the easiest for an inexperienced cook). If you need practice on glazing, read up; preparing the glaze correctly will help so this cake won't become a soggy mess...(as some reviewers have stated) It is most awesome and deserves to be made correctly and served at every winter holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I have made this cake for years. It has become a tradition at my office during the Holidays. I do make sure that I use the expensive rum so the alcohol is not as strong. I also add a little extra into the glaze. It is so easy. I just make the cake, punch holes and pour the glaze over and let it sit overnight. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Barrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
A cake with more pizzazz then most. I baked this and never even got a slice. The lucky ones that did -- loved it. I'm baking another and keeping it for myself! They all wated the recipe. It was easy to make - I injected the rum glaze like another reviewer suggested and drizzled it over the top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Thanks for sharing this. I made one last year for the 1st time as a house warming present. Now everyone wants one. Easy, sweet, spices are perfect combo with the rum. The RUM - WoW. What a cake!! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was a delicious recipe. It was woofed down in less than 1 hour by 10 guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLBLACKMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Richmond, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States