Aunt T's D.W.I. Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Good, but REALLY STRONG! Used about half the glaze, and that was plenty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Fantabulous! This cake was delicious. The sauce has a LOT of Rum in it, so don't eat and drive. My entire family loved it. Even my husband who is not a big fan of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I have very fond memories of my mother's bookkeeper making a traditional rum cake every Christmas for my family when I was growing up. Inspired by the childhood memory I wanted to make one myself for our New Year's party this year. This recipe was a wild success! My only suggestion, make extra glaze! I served the cake with whipped cream and the extra glaze and very shortly after I received a standing ovation from my guests. I plan to continue the Christmas rum cake tradition with my family and this recipe! Thank you, Aunt T.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This has become one of our favourite desserts! It's well worth the effort and wait. For a healthier version... substitute the 1/2 cup of vegetalbe oil for 1 cup mashed over-ripe bananas OR 3/4 cup apple sauce OR a little more than 1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt. Some great additions to the recipe that I've tried include adding Coconut, Mashed Bananas, Chocolate Chips, Chopped Pecans or Raspberry Puree. It's been delicious every time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Soooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Way too strong. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This cake is great on taste; however the appearance is a set back...especially if you are entertaining. The end result looks quite soggy, but great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vino75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
AWESOME! AND SO YUMMY! I had never made a rum cake before and wanted to try before Christmas gets here. My husband said it's the best rum cake he's ever had. When it was time to add the glaze I inserted a teeny funnel in the holes and put about 1/4 cup at a time in. It took a few minutes longer but was well worth the wait. This is NOT for your kid's birthday party! Thank you for a great holiday recipe. I made this a second time this week and it was fabulous! This time I let it sit about 20 hours prior to serving. The texture was wonderful and it held it's shape well. The flavor was out of this world - sweet and spicy flavor was perfect. I used spiced rum this time. To make this work you really need to put some care and time into it. If you do, you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tryna P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
If you're looking to get drunk off cake, this will work! But, if you're looking for something delicious, try again. My friends and I needed a chaser to eat this. I'm not the world's best chef, but I believe these effects are because of the recipe not me. I mean, if you're adding like 10 shots of rum on top of a cake, you can imagine what I'm talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Very stonge flavor, you must like rum to like this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States