Aunt T's D.W.I. Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by soldsoul4cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This one has been with me for years. Simply a fun classic. Make sure to let the cake sit with rum glaze for about a day. it softens and blends the flavors beautifully. it also solidifies the cake like honey on toast. i love it best with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldsoul4cookies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great recipe and cake! My friends have a standing order for this cake. 100 times better than the box-cake recipes. THanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daria Sorhaindo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Wonderful! Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I was lazy and didn't poke holes into the cake but slathered the glaze over the cake. The glaze was a huge hit and people couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This did not take the full 60 minutes to bake at 300 degrees. I set the timer for 50 minutes, and when I checked it with a toothpick it was already done so not sure how long it had already been done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe has become holiday tradition at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Perfect in almost every way, but to reduce the alcohol and intensify the rum flavoring I add the rum and the butter first bring to a boil, add the sugar, and water, and bring to a slower boil, till it is a sticky glaze and no longer a syrup. I also glaze som walnuts to put on top for decoration. I just do not like the alcohol as much as the flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemstoneprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this recipe for our Thanksgiving get-together and it was a great hit. I added a cup and a half of raisins soaked in rum for 48 hours, and that increased the cooking time slightly, your results may vary. By the time the cake had soaked up most of the rum glaze, the cake had doubled in weight. I think that this is going to become a staple of celebrations, especially ones where people don't have to drive. Thanks for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Love this cake! I use Captain Morgan's Tattoo Black Rum. It is full of spice - so tasty. Depending on the group I'm bringing cake to, I will cut back a bit on the butter and add more rum for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
wasn't crazy about the glaze seemed to be rather greasy as it cooled on the cake....perhaps I did not cook it long enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peruseido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belvedere, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States