Aunt Shirley's Dietetic Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
The apple pie was delicious and no-one guessed that it was sugar-free! I added a dash of ginger and used a bit more cinnamon and nutmeg and this worked out really well. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
MY HUSBAND AND MY FATHER ARE DIABETIC AND THIS RECIPE IS WONDERFUL FOR THEM. I TOOK IT TO A FAMILY REUNION AND NOBODY GUESSED THAT IT WAS SUGARFREE. EVERYONE THAT HAS TRIED A SLICE OF THIS PIE, CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving Day for the simple fact that I'm a borderline diabetic and I hate it when others get to eat pie and I can't. After the meal was over and all had their desserts...I looked around and the apple pie was gone and several were asking where I got the pie at and I told them that I made it and they said, "No Way!" So I would like to say Thank You for submitting this recipe and I truly recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I made this with 3 cans unsweetened peaches. Could have used 4 cans. It was wonderful....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This recipe turned out really good. I have an insulin dependent diabetic family member and he was the only one informed that it was sugar free so he could have a piece of the pie.He didn't feel left out at dessert. Everyone raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this pie with 1 cup of Splenda for baking & added probably 1/2 stick of butter into the mixture for a more "authentic" apple pie taste. I used 5 big Granny Smith apples, and it wasn't too tart. I've never made an apple pie using cornstarch, but this worked out great because it made the sweetened spice/butter mixture stick to every single piece of the cut up apples. It was the perfect combination of sweet & tart. It was so delicious no one could believe it was sugar free! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I recently made this for a diabetic friend who is still raving about it, days and days later. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
My dad loves this recipe and request I make it for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I stumbled across this recipe on my way to finding another apple pie recipe. I ended up trying this one instead and so glad I did! This pie is wonderful-and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to cut back on their sugar intake. Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I've made this in the apple version twice now... once on Thanksgiving and once on Christmas eve! My father is diabetic so I like to make things he can eat, but the pie was a hit with everyone... especially my husband who doesn't have to eat sugar free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States