Aunt Shirley's Dietetic Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made this for my aunt and she loved it. She is diabetic so we still have to make sure she takes it easy as there is natural sugar in the fruit. My cousin who is an apple pie fiend managed to wrestle a slice away from my aunt and she also said it was delicoius. This will now be our standard apple pie recipe as we are always looking to cut calories, and one apple pie made per holiday is more than enough (along with the pecan and pumpkin of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I used the sweetest Georgia peaches for this pie. I followed the recipe to a "T," and it was runny, runny, runny. I had made other sugarfree pies that didn't completely set up so after reading the reviews on this one I thought, well maybe the steps taken in this recipe will make for a better pie as far as it setting up. Boy was I wrong, this one didn't set up at all. It was a flop and not only that it tasted bad. I will go back to my old way of making sugar free pies. I'm glad however, everyone else had luck with it, but for me it was a bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmilew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
remember to those cooking for diabetics that it may be 'sugar free' , fruit itself is a sugar as are the carbohydrates used. ( flour , pie shell) just a helpful fyi - in other words ? you can't eat half the pie !! just because it's white sugar free !!! great pie recipe however !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLFOUCHEY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. My relative is diabetic and needs to have sugarless desserts. Pieos his favorite. I have read warnings that recipes for sugarless pies often add juice causing hidden/additional sources of sugar. THIS ONE DOES NOT. He enjoyed this one so much stating he liked it better than any other bakery/store bought sugarless he has tried. He asked to take the rest home after the holiday party too. Thank you. It will be used again he is a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
My 13 yr old daughter wanted to make it for my father who is Diebetic. She decided to make 2 since they my kids are limited to their sugar intake and it was a hit with everyone else. So everyone else had one pie and the other one was left for my dad. Even the older teens liked it. Thank you for supplying a recipe that will remain in my family from now on. Everyone gave her "Kuddos" for making it, and it made her feel so proud of herself. Thank you again and many blessings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Good pie! I used golden delicious apples and 10 packets of sweetener and it was the perfect sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is an awesome pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duanesburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was my first apple pie and my guests really enjoyed it. I did use the cinnamon and nutmeg sparingly to taste. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoyCooks2
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Wow..I made 2 of these babies for our Thanksgiving Dinner. I used refrigerated crusts instead of frozen. I used Granny Smith apples. I had NO pie leftover. Not one person guessed they were sugar free either. I made one with a lattice top and it turned out beautiful. The other had heart shapes cut out. Excellent recipe..Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I have been making this pie for the last several years for my Father who is diabetic...no one can ever tell that it doesn't have any real sugar in it. I use Splenda and it is actually very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States