Aunt Sally's Cocoa Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I needed to bake these 4 minutes longer than specified to ensure they didn't fall apart, but otherwise, nice cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Followed the recipe except i used butter as a substitute for the shortening. Then since i saw some people said it was a little less on the sweet side and should frost; instead i added in milk chocolate chips and marshmallows. Made bigger cookies (22 instead of 3 dozen) and 400 for 10 minutes. Just sweet enough, soft, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Really, really like this recipe!!!! Very similar to a cookie my grandmother used to make! I doubled the recipe like other reviewers mentioned and glad I did!! Only changes I made were I substituted milk (soured with vinegar) and butter instead of shortening. I was nervous about the butter substitute (I prefer not to use shortening ever if possible) I am sure my cookies did not hold there shape like they could have but they are very moist and cake like. Will be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Barry
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Surprisingly this turned out to be a soft cookie. I made them with chocolate chips. I used a #24 scoop. What I liked most about the cookie is that it held its shape in the oven with just a little be if spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I doubled the recipe. They weren't as sweet as I thought they would be so I added semi-sweet chocolate chips and dusted them with powdered sugar after they baked for exactly 8 minutes. Amazing!!! I took them to all my neighbors just so I wouldn't eat them all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These were great! I was looking for a cocoa-based chocolate cookie I could add Andes mint chips to, and this worked beautifully. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I'm tempted to try this recipe again just to see if I did something wrong, but I'm 95% sure I followed the recipe exactly- even chilled for 1 hour! I baked half the recipe without walnuts and the other half with, because some of my friends don't like nuts. I personally felt like the cookies without nuts were very boring and couldn't really stand on their own without frosting them. Additionally, the texture was pretty dense- more like a brownie but a really bland brownie. Maybe they would be better with more sugar and more chocolate? I baked the half with walnuts second and as I wasn't happy with the texture I added some more baking soda to that half. I personally was more pleased with them being fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
SO delicious and SO easy!!!! I followed directions exactly, except I didnt measure the walnuts and just threw a bunch in the batter. Mine baked for 9 minutes at 400 and came out perfectly!! Will definitely make again......thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
They were a little rich for my liking. I tasted one fresh out of the oven and decided to ice only half, instead of all as originally intended. Albeit of my perceived richness of the cookies, the iced ones went faster in my household than the non-iced drops. I would make these again per feedback from family members (I heard that they were good - but not personal favorites).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Monks
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Excellent, made the recipe per the directions and everything turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States