Aunt Sally Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe is only for the cookie, not the icing since I didn't make it along with the cookies. Nice cookies, although I don't think a half hour is enough to chill this dough. I made the dough around 5:30 am and went to bake the cookies around 8 or 8:30 am and it was difficult to work with as cutouts, so I ended up doing only a pan of cutouts and the rest as drop cookies which I smooshed with some sugar and the bottom of a glass. I then had hubs try to see if he felt they needed the frosting and he didn't think they needed it. I agree; they are sweet enough and if you like gingerbread cookies, you will love these. They make a ton and my mixer was straining a bit with this mix. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made these for hubby, he remembers from childhood and can't find anymore. Dough is very tender and must be handled gently. roll with PLENTY of flour on top and bottom before rolling. I found that insulated cookie sheet worked best for them rising a little. I uses butter instead of shortening, cutting back milk to 3/4 cup. (I sour the milk with T vinegar since I don't normally have sour milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I wouldn't recommend this recipe. I had a really tough time and I feel I am a seasoned cook.I tried to roll out the dough to no avail. It turned out more like cake so I put it in a jelly roll pan instead. Also this is double size what most cookie recipes are! It came out ok as cake but too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My sister remembers my grandmother always having these when she came to visit... She loved them then, and still loves them, thanks for the recipe. The recipe does make a lot of frosting, but that's okay, be generous with the frosting, the cookie itself is not sweet at all. As the frosting sets up over the next day, it does seams to condense a little too. They are a bit of work, but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These is a cookie that my dad remembers as a boy, so I make them just for him. They are wonderful, but I do double up on the spices as that's how my dad likes them. Traditionally they are cut out with a spam can, but since I won't buy spam (too processed) my dad has to settle for regular cookie cutter shapes. But that doesn't stop him from nibbling on them every time he walks by them. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These cookies were excellent!! The frosting recipe made too much, at least for the amount we used per cookie so I might reduce to half next time. In order for the frosting to harden, let them sit at room temperature for several hours. Oh, and unlike most cookie recipes where the total is referring to tiny 1.5" cookies, this recipe actually does make 72 LARGE cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I was really disappointed. They were not a spicy ginger at all. Next time will add a LOT more ginger, but they were soft and good. Just not what I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
We used to buy these when I was a kid. They came in a package that was red, covered with clear plastic. The absolute best with a glass of cold milk. This is comfort food!! I have made 4 batches of them, and they are just like what we used to get. But, they are better as they are fresh, not off the grocery store shelf. I have not been able to find them in a store for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Plain B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thorp, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
Really good recipe. It's a very soft gingerbread kinda cookie. The taste may come of strong to others so what you can do is reduce amount of ginger or cut down on the molasses (maybe 3/4 cup?). If you decide to go on with the orginal recipe, make sure you put a thick layer of marshmallow frosting so that the sweetness of the marshmallow cuts through the gingery taste of the cookie. Really good cookie!! Very soft and that marshmallow frosting is a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mournfields

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States