Aunt Ruth's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great Recipe...ingredients in most cabinets/canisters/fridge...you'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany B.
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Just made these for an appetizer for tonight's dinner...YUMMY! These are so good and easy, especially since everything is already in your fridge or cabinet! I followed the recipe exactly as written - the only thing I changed was to bake these instead of frying. Bake at 425 for 12 min., turning crab cakes halfway through cooking time. My whole family agreed these were as good as and possibly even better than served at restaurants. Chock full of crabmeat and very little filler. I would recommend using the Old Bay seasoning...gives the crab cakes that extra kick!Excellent! I posted a picture for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
These are incredible! I doctored them a bit because I don't have Old Bay seasoning. I threw in some chives, cumin, celery salt, basil, a tiny bit of thyme, cumin, and a smidge of chili pepper. Added an extra egg because they didn't have enough body. I baked them, then broiled them for the last 5 min. so that they'd be a little crispier on the outside. Threw together a tartar sauce with diced pickles, olive oil mayo, and a little hot sauce. So good! Am sending this recipe to a few of my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wonderful! The only thing I added was some sauteed onions. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Brown Hollar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I halved this recipe to use some crab left over from another dish. I also broiled them. I thought the recipe was a bit “fluid” but after broiling (on high, 5 minutes each side) they did firm up. I also found it a bit spicy which masked the flavor of the crab. Made 3 generously-sized crab cakes. I’ll keep searching for the perfect crab cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Vath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made these Crab Cakes and they are super awesome. I recommend using real claw crab meat, not from the can, you will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shan gie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie Lohner- Dickenson
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
very good. Some times crab cakes get dense and dry but these cakes came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These were great... the only change I made was to add a few more crackers.... made it for my kids and they loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci Purvis Maddox
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Yum! Oh, so simple - and all about the crab! Not "bready" - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci Purvis Maddox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
If you are going to go to the trouble of making crab cakes PLEASE DON'T use canned flaked crab meat. That has as much resemblance to real crab meat as canned tuna has to fresh sushi grade tuna. Get fresh LUMP crab meat. If you need to make more than 4-6 crab cakes you can stretch the lump meat by adding a can of "backfin" or "special" to the lump. Saltine crackers are good to add, but 16 to a pound of crab meat is waaay too much. You aren't making saltine cakes, 4 or 5 at the most. The "seafood seasoning" should be Old Bay, don't use an imitation it's not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States