Aunt Rosie's Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I had mixed feelings about this as I went through the steps of making it. The cake turned out beautifully, deep chocolate and evenly risen and baked. The filling surprised me--it started out runny but after 5 minutes whipped up fluffy and light. The only trouble was that it didn't have much flavor. It really wasn't even sweet enough. It spread beautifully, the top layer went on like a breeze and the finished cake looked, well...unfinished. I'm sure this was meant to look and taste like a Hostess SuzyQ, but I really wasn't impressed. I knew it needed dressing up with an icing or glaze. A few minutes later I had it it covered with "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" and now I had something! The glaze is sweet, which was the perfect compliment to the more subtle cream filling, and together with the deep chocolate cake, this was just chocolatey, creamy, gooey, fudgey bliss. Warning: this is very rich, so a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2004
This is the best cake I've had in years! I didn't have two 10x15 pans, so I substituted two 9x13's.... worked out fine. I'll be making another batch as soon as I'm done with this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This cake was really good, moist and not too dense. The filling on the other hand never got to the "whipped cream" stage...I even added extra flour to try and thicken it. Next time I will use my mother's icing recipe that is similar to this one...1 stick butter, 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup milk, 4 heaping tablespoons flour, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1 cup regular white sugar. Put all ingredients in bowl and beat on high until sugar dissolves. Thanks for a good cake recipe...will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I used slightly smaller cookie sheets, and the recipe came out just fine. Made this as my husband's birthday cake...was a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETIEPEE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe is so easy and so good - everyone wants to know the recipe. I send them to allrecipies.com and tell them to look for Aunt Rosie's Gob Cake. When a function is coming up everyone asks if I'm bringing the Gob Cake. Try it you'll really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This cake recipe is fantastic if you like heavy, dense cake which I do. The filling on the other hand is not great. I followed the directions exactly. It kept seperating and it was like eating a spoonful of powdered sugar by itself. I scraped it off and ate the cake alone, it was plenty moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This review is for the cake portion of this recipe only. I made the cake part into sandwiches and it made 56 - 2 1/2" disks. I baked them in my muffin top pans. The cakes looked beautiful when I took them out of the oven but within 2 minutes they were completely flat. It didn't affect the taste, just the appearance of the finished product. I will try these again at another date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I only used the gob part of this recipe; used a cooked icing recipe from another source, but the cake turned out great! I dropped a small amount of batter onto parchment paper and sandwhiched the icing between 2 halves in the more traditional way of making gobs. They came out very well, i'm keeping this one for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
A great cake...very thick and delicious. The topping is great too although not thick enough so it'll slide off the sides of the cake. Really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Love this recipe - easy, easy, easy and taste as good as any cake from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States