Aunt Rosie's Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This has been a hit with everyone who has tried it. I have used whole wheat flour in the icing and it is great tool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe is so easy and so good - everyone wants to know the recipe. I send them to allrecipies.com and tell them to look for Aunt Rosie's Gob Cake. When a function is coming up everyone asks if I'm bringing the Gob Cake. Try it you'll really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
This cake tasted okay, but it would not hold together. Plus, it cooked over every container I tried to bake it in. I guess "gob" is not a misnomer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This cake recipe is fantastic if you like heavy, dense cake which I do. The filling on the other hand is not great. I followed the directions exactly. It kept seperating and it was like eating a spoonful of powdered sugar by itself. I scraped it off and ate the cake alone, it was plenty moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
This is the best cake I've had in years! I didn't have two 10x15 pans, so I substituted two 9x13's.... worked out fine. I'll be making another batch as soon as I'm done with this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Love this recipe - easy, easy, easy and taste as good as any cake from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I used slightly smaller cookie sheets, and the recipe came out just fine. Made this as my husband's birthday cake...was a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETIEPEE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
A great cake...very thick and delicious. The topping is great too although not thick enough so it'll slide off the sides of the cake. Really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I only used the gob part of this recipe; used a cooked icing recipe from another source, but the cake turned out great! I dropped a small amount of batter onto parchment paper and sandwhiched the icing between 2 halves in the more traditional way of making gobs. They came out very well, i'm keeping this one for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I had mixed feelings about this as I went through the steps of making it. The cake turned out beautifully, deep chocolate and evenly risen and baked. The filling surprised me--it started out runny but after 5 minutes whipped up fluffy and light. The only trouble was that it didn't have much flavor. It really wasn't even sweet enough. It spread beautifully, the top layer went on like a breeze and the finished cake looked, well...unfinished. I'm sure this was meant to look and taste like a Hostess SuzyQ, but I really wasn't impressed. I knew it needed dressing up with an icing or glaze. A few minutes later I had it it covered with "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" and now I had something! The glaze is sweet, which was the perfect compliment to the more subtle cream filling, and together with the deep chocolate cake, this was just chocolatey, creamy, gooey, fudgey bliss. Warning: this is very rich, so a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States