Aunt Rosie's Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I used slightly smaller cookie sheets, and the recipe came out just fine. Made this as my husband's birthday cake...was a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETIEPEE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this for a friend when I made them supper and they siad it was so good she wanted the recipe so I shared it with her, so easy to make I always wanted to make a cob cake; its a keeper...... thank you for the recipe =) =) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bever-li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This has been a hit with everyone who has tried it. I have used whole wheat flour in the icing and it is great tool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe is so easy and so good - everyone wants to know the recipe. I send them to allrecipies.com and tell them to look for Aunt Rosie's Gob Cake. When a function is coming up everyone asks if I'm bringing the Gob Cake. Try it you'll really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
This is the best cake I've had in years! I didn't have two 10x15 pans, so I substituted two 9x13's.... worked out fine. I'll be making another batch as soon as I'm done with this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Love this recipe - easy, easy, easy and taste as good as any cake from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
A great cake...very thick and delicious. The topping is great too although not thick enough so it'll slide off the sides of the cake. Really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Reminds me of a giant whoppie pie! Great shortcut - thanks for sharing Mia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Very good! I MUST mention that the filling, as is, is PERFECT. I don't mean to hurt anyone's feelings, but anyone who said it was "watery" or "runny" MUST have done something wrong. I followed the directions exactly as written, used my KitchenAid stand mixer, and spread it evenly on TOTALLY cooled cakes, and it was very thick and rich. The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars is because of my personal prefernce, which is to add a chocolate glaze. I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I only used the gob part of this recipe; used a cooked icing recipe from another source, but the cake turned out great! I dropped a small amount of batter onto parchment paper and sandwhiched the icing between 2 halves in the more traditional way of making gobs. They came out very well, i'm keeping this one for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States