Aunt Rosie's Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I think it is good. However if you are concerned about calories, the filling is loaded... So next time am going to try to find a lower calorie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Marilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Very good! I MUST mention that the filling, as is, is PERFECT. I don't mean to hurt anyone's feelings, but anyone who said it was "watery" or "runny" MUST have done something wrong. I followed the directions exactly as written, used my KitchenAid stand mixer, and spread it evenly on TOTALLY cooled cakes, and it was very thick and rich. The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars is because of my personal prefernce, which is to add a chocolate glaze. I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Reminds me of a giant whoppie pie! Great shortcut - thanks for sharing Mia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This review is for the cake portion of this recipe only. I made the cake part into sandwiches and it made 56 - 2 1/2" disks. I baked them in my muffin top pans. The cakes looked beautiful when I took them out of the oven but within 2 minutes they were completely flat. It didn't affect the taste, just the appearance of the finished product. I will try these again at another date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this for a friend when I made them supper and they siad it was so good she wanted the recipe so I shared it with her, so easy to make I always wanted to make a cob cake; its a keeper...... thank you for the recipe =) =) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bever-li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
not as good as i expected..cream is too watery..something is off..cake is good..would use different filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This review is only for the cake part. I did not use the icing. I used devils food cake mix & pudding mix and baked the cake in two 9 inch pans & used for a layer cake. Turned out very moist & chocolately. Very good with a semi-sweet chocolate ganache icing & a sweeter filling between the layers. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This cake was really good, moist and not too dense. The filling on the other hand never got to the "whipped cream" stage...I even added extra flour to try and thicken it. Next time I will use my mother's icing recipe that is similar to this one...1 stick butter, 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup milk, 4 heaping tablespoons flour, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1 cup regular white sugar. Put all ingredients in bowl and beat on high until sugar dissolves. Thanks for a good cake recipe...will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I had mixed feelings about this as I went through the steps of making it. The cake turned out beautifully, deep chocolate and evenly risen and baked. The filling surprised me--it started out runny but after 5 minutes whipped up fluffy and light. The only trouble was that it didn't have much flavor. It really wasn't even sweet enough. It spread beautifully, the top layer went on like a breeze and the finished cake looked, well...unfinished. I'm sure this was meant to look and taste like a Hostess SuzyQ, but I really wasn't impressed. I knew it needed dressing up with an icing or glaze. A few minutes later I had it it covered with "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" and now I had something! The glaze is sweet, which was the perfect compliment to the more subtle cream filling, and together with the deep chocolate cake, this was just chocolatey, creamy, gooey, fudgey bliss. Warning: this is very rich, so a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States