Aunt Ro's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
We made this for a party and it was a big hit. The only change we made was to add some pressed garlic. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Thank you Aunt Ro!!! These are easy and wonderful, and the best thing is they stand up beautifully to adjustments if you don't happen to have everything or want to add something. I live outside of the city in the mountains, so (especially with fuel costs skyrocketing) I can't just run to a store to pick up extra ingredients. The first time I made these I made them exactly as written ... DELICIOUS! Everyone raved! We invited some friends over for a cookout, and among them were people who had been here the first time I made these, and they asked if I would make them again. This time, however, I used what I had in the cupboard for beans: black beans, pinto beans, red bean and Garbanzo beans. I added some chopped garlic and used chopped saute's Brats instead of the burger, and threw in a chopped jalapeno for good measure. MORE raves!! I made a huge crockpot full, and even had people ask if they could take some home ... but no leftovers to speak of. So feel confident with this recipe and make minor changes if need be - this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is one of our family's favorite recipes for picnics or a supper meal. Doesn't have to go in a slow cooker. If you don't have one, just either simmer on low on top of the stove or place in an oven at 250 temperature. Delicious. Great served with green salad and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was just great! I did not have time to make it in the crock pot, so I just simmered it on the stove for about an hour. Also, I only used one can each of the beans and it still made a huge amount of food. I only had 1/2 cup of bbq sauce left but you could still really taste it. I'll probably use that same amount next time. I didn't have bacon so I left that out and my husband said, without seeing this recipe, that it would be perfect if it only had bacon on it! So I'll be sure to include that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I thought these were really great. I followed the recipe, except added the bacon to the dish while cooking. Next time I don't think I would put them in the slow cooker, just mix them together the night before, then just bake in the oven. Will definitely make again. My husband also thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Best baked beans I've ever had. I also didn't have butter breans so I subbed black bean in it's place. I also partially cooked the bacon about half way and I added it about half way in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpj1401

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I love beans period and it was a pluse when I saw bacon in this recipe it adds such a good texture to the beans they are awsome!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I tried this recipe for a family party and it got a great rewiew! Everyone wanted to take the leftovers home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Very good - awesome taste! I will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These were a hit! I opted not to put in the butter beans because when I opened the can, they did not look a bean I would want to eat. :) Everything else was the same and they were YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States