Aunt Ro's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Thank you Aunt Ro!!! These are easy and wonderful, and the best thing is they stand up beautifully to adjustments if you don't happen to have everything or want to add something. I live outside of the city in the mountains, so (especially with fuel costs skyrocketing) I can't just run to a store to pick up extra ingredients. The first time I made these I made them exactly as written ... DELICIOUS! Everyone raved! We invited some friends over for a cookout, and among them were people who had been here the first time I made these, and they asked if I would make them again. This time, however, I used what I had in the cupboard for beans: black beans, pinto beans, red bean and Garbanzo beans. I added some chopped garlic and used chopped saute's Brats instead of the burger, and threw in a chopped jalapeno for good measure. MORE raves!! I made a huge crockpot full, and even had people ask if they could take some home ... but no leftovers to speak of. So feel confident with this recipe and make minor changes if need be - this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
We made this for a party and it was a big hit. The only change we made was to add some pressed garlic. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is one of our family's favorite recipes for picnics or a supper meal. Doesn't have to go in a slow cooker. If you don't have one, just either simmer on low on top of the stove or place in an oven at 250 temperature. Delicious. Great served with green salad and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I have made this recipe several times now, and it's always been a big hit. The only change I made was using more bacon. Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce was wonderful with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Removed butter beans, added extra baked beans. Also added the bacon while it was cooking in the crockpot, but I may use the oven next time. Great recipe, everyone loved it and I'll be making lots for the 4th! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I had pulled 3 different baked beans recipes off this site to try for Labor Day. My husband LOVED this recipe. It was super flavorful and came out perfect. I doubled the bacon and used Sweet Baby Ray's and it was by far the best I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Best beans ever!!! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! Instead of butter beans I used red beans and added fresh jalepenos. Everyone at our bbq loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made these for a BBQ and everyone there raved. I had to give the recipe to all there. I didn't have any butter beans so I used kidney beans. Can't see any difference. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very easy to make. Everyone loved it who tried it. Will make again. Thanks!! AA++ recipe. Followed recipe exact, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States