Aunt Rachel's Cheese Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brittany Haase
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
It was my first soufflé. I think it is a great starter recipe. I added some pepper jack instead of all cheddar, and I used wheat brea instead of white, but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Haase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I really wanted to try this, so I read all the reviews and tried a couple of the suggestions. I had older white mushy bread and used that. I also added saute'ed onions. I used only 1 cup of milk, two eggs and added sweet onion dressing, spicy honey mustard and a dash of Worcestershire sauce for flavor. And we loved it! Yummy. Easy. And I will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIRITMAGIK30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Love this quick and easy recipe! I add sauted onions, a splash of sherry, and a little dry mustard to the egg/milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I'm going to have to critize. This misses the mark. First, it's not a souffle. It's a baked egg and cheese dish. A souffle needs to have eggs separated and folded together after having been whipped. I'll play with it and come up with a breakfast casserole, but wouldn't consider making this to serve as a 'souffle' again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I have a similar recipe that my cousin gave me many years ago and I've made it every Thanksgiving since then. The key is to NOT use so much liquid. If you use too much, the bread will be too soggy. Use only 1 cup milk and it turns out better. Also, use older, dryer bread as the other reviewer stated. But this is awsome. I made my own from memory since this is an annual tradition with my family. They would get upset if I didn't make a "Cheese Souffle" on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was awesome!! I took another reviewers advise and used an Asiago cheese bagel. I only made half a recipe. I also threw in a little dry mustard and a small handful of green onion and mushrooms. I cooked in a large loaf pan and bread was covered. Next time I will not butter the bagel and will cook at 350 instead of 375. All in all, it was teriffic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
My family thought this was rather blah and unfilling. I guess we are looking for something with more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The first time I made this, I made it exactly as Pat. C. directed, and it was pretty good. Not amazing or anything, but a decent recipe and easy enough to put together and very nice for a light dinner with a dise salad. The second time I made it, I didn't have any bread on hand (other than the squishy "pillow" bread which isn't really good for anything except getting the kids to eat peanut butter) I DID have some asiago cheese bagels from Panera that were getting stale though. I sliced them in half, and then in half again (so I had 4 thin circles from each bagel) and LET ME TELL YOU it was OUTSTANDING! WOW! I plan on making this again the next time we have overnight guests, and I will buy the bagels just for this. Even my six year old, who turned up her nose at it the first time, ate two helpings when I made it with the bagels. I wish I could give it more than five stars. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Just like my mother used to make! Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I soaked the bread overnight and after 45 minutes of baking it was soggy bread, so I turned the oven up to 425 and baked for 20 more minutes and still soggy bread. To top that off there was an inch of grease on the bottom of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States