Aunt Phyllis' Magnificent Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
first time I ever trid a cheese ball, was worried about presentation and all: it really is easy and turns out like it has lots of things in it, when it's basically cheese, onion, lemon and parsley! I did substitute the green onion with a red one, and used a mozzarella&provolone sprinkle. Ah, and I did halve the quantity, we were 7 people, and half was quite enough. Recipe to save!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
AN EASY RECIPE THAT COMES TOGETHER QUICK I USED MY HAND MIXER TO CREAM THE CHEESE AND THE BUTTER, THEN ADDED THE REST OF THE INGREDIENTS I USED A WHOLE PACKAGE OF DRY CHEESE SAUCE FROM THE MAC AND CHEESE, CUT BACK ON THE ONIONS AND ADDED A FOURTH OF A TEASPOON OF CAYENNE. I FORMED IT INTO TWO HEALTHY BALLS, WRAPPED THEM IN PLASTIC WRAP AND THE ARE NOW RESTING IN MY FRIDGE UNTIL MONDAY WHEN I WILL ROLL ONE IN TOASTED PECANS THE OTHER IN TOASTED WALNUTS AND OFFER THEM UP AT MY OFFICE LUNCHEON. FROM START TO FINISH THE WHOLE PROCESS TOOK LESS THAN 30 MINUTES. EVEN BEFORE THE FLAVORS HAD DEVELOPED I KNEW THIS WAS GOING TO BE AN AWESOME RECIPE. I HAVE PUT IT IN MY KEEPER FILE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this for christmas last year and since then every holiday i get marked down to bring it!!! It is great! Tollhouse butter crackers go with it wonderfully!! I add a lot more cheese powder than it asks and it was better!! I love the cheese flavor it has, it doesnt taste just like cream cheese like a lot of other ones do. I know ill be making it again. Thats all my family wants me to bring for dinners. and since it makes 2 balls its good if you have to go to both sides of the families homes for holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsay0453

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maynardville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tazewell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This was a big hit at my last Christmas party --- I followed the recipe to the letter and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidentalgourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I added extra cheese sauce mix, 1 Tablespoon didn't seem enough and I like my cheese. The green onions were a perfect touch and I DID use the butter. This definitely needs to sit in the fridge for awhile for flavors to meld (or you WILL taste "just" butter) I made this the day before I needed it). This turned out FANTASTIC and will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Love cheeseballs but this one not one of my favorvites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I make this every year at Christmas and everyone loves it. It has great flavor and is easy to make! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This recipe is so incredibly simple, yet everyone raves about it and ask what's in it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMI1Y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I am going to go against the rave reviews of many people and say this recipe was mediocre. I followed the recipe and it tasted only like cream cheese. I chose to add a sharp and a mild mixture of cheddar but that was not enough. I do not know the point of the butter in this recipe - I don't think cream cheese needs anymore buttery taste, really! Don't use it. Also, I thought the cheese powder would add some good flavor - but you will need to add almost the entire package rather than the 1 T. If you like big flavor use this as a good foundation and jazz it up. Sorry Aunt Phyllis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Excellent! I had to play with the ingredients a bit to get just the right flavor, but I’ll definitely make it again. It was a hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States