Aunt Peg's Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is a delicious and different soup. It is especially appropriate for Lent, because of its absence of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Excellent recipe. If I had it to make again-and I will-I would reduce the fat by using half and half, and low fat cheeses. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I was very impressed with the way this soup turned out and will definately me making it again. I made the soup in a crockpot rather than baking as directed however and I substituted the dried basil for fresh dill which gave it a nice kick. **Addition to original review. I have made this soup many times since I originally found this recipe two years ago and I must say, it has been a real hit and has easily become one of my favorite winter meals. Best served with french bread, warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
What a great recipe! This baked soup is awesome served with hot garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I modified this recipe to make it low-fat friendly. I pureed the chickpeas in my food processor and baked as directed. To finish, I served it with some light sour cream and shredded monterrey jack on the side. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
A big hit with my family. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
"THE BEST SOUP EVER" i used pinot grigio for the wine as that is the best wine i have ever used to cook, and will ever use, gives it a nice flavor to it, and since i hate having chunk of beans in my soup i pureed the garbanzo beans before adding them, added a nice texture to the soup, more hearty and thick. i served this to my guests and they made it 5 times in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartofatexan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a delicous soup...definitely a KEEPER! The only thing I changed was adding a 15 oz can of chopped tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was a great soup! I'm always looking for vegetarian alternatives for when I have vegetarian guests. Even my fiancé, who normally asks for meat on the side with veggie dishes, loved this just by itself. The only change I had was to cook it on the stovetop over medium-low heat instead of baking. I would add the cheese just before serving, or even just sprinkle it on top of the soup instead of stiring it in, as it got a little rubbery from cooking for 10 mins. Also, I'll definately make more next time - the 6 serving recipe was just enough for 3 main dish servings (and that was with 15 ounce cans instead of 8 ounce), and we were wishing we could go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY217

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Wow! This is amazing. I had to take a picture of it because it was so amazing. I cooked it stovetop and put the cheese in at the end like others suggested. I also added a little sour cream on top. I'm definitely freezing zucchini so we can have this in the winter. My sister came from Texas to visit and just LOVED it! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States