Aunt Peg's Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This is an amazing soup--hearty, wholesome, and bursting with flavor. It's in regular rotation in my kitchen. I make it vegan with the following substitutions: 1) standard sized can of chickpeas and tomatoes (whole, chopped, fresh, crushed...it's all good) 2) water if I don't have white wine (tastes great) 3) Leave out the cheeses and butter--don't even miss them! 4) Sub cashew cream (just cashews blended with water) for the heavy cream--AMAZING! 5) A twist of lemon and some salt and pepper at the end. I used some old bread to make some croutons today. Threw them in there...heaven. Aunt Peg knows what's up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Full of flavor...chickpeas and zucchini are great with the broth. This is a cheese and basil flavored cream soup. Very Italian tasting. My wife ate all of it and I got a couple spoonfuls :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Perfect! This was an ideal veg supper on a cold November eve along with multigrain bread. It was deluxe! So full of flavour and satisfaction. My husband raved about it while gobbling it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Was okay but seemed to be missing something to make it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I love this recipe. The one thing I don't like, however, are garbanzo beans, however, so when I make this (which I am about to again), I leave those out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Excellent! Only did a couple things different: I pressed 2 large cloves of garlic rather than mincing 1 tsp. since we love garlic. And I added 1/4 t. thyme as that is a fave herb of mine in soups. We will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is my favorite homemade soup of all time. I have made it for a potluck before and everyone asked for the recipe (it does not make a huge amount however so if you will be making it for a potluck I would suggest making a couple of batches.) I make this quite often. It is very easy. It does take quite a while to bake but it is well worth it. I freeze it and bring for lunch and reheat in the microwave. Definitely bake this in a medium casserole dish/bowl. I have never had a problem with the cheese turning "rubbery." In my opinion it is best to follow this recipe exactly as it is written for the best turnout. Thank you for sharing. This will continue to be a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Quite good! Doesn't make much (about four bowls). It got much thicker as leftovers, so I used it as pasta sauce, which was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I had such high hopes for this one...it looked so good. Used good quality Pinot Grigio as someone suggested. The soup was a little sour for my taste, and just didn't have the OOMPH I was aiming for. I agree, it did taste better the next day, but still not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I'm a long time allrecipes member and usually agree with consensus opinions on recipes, but my rating will be notch lower than the other reviewers. As my son described it, "A little bland, if you know what I mean." Maybe it's because I used white cooking wine instead of dry white wine, but the flavor seemed to be lacking something. Maybe more garlic, more basil, or additional spices. Too, the cheese turned a little rubbery in places. Maybe it melted too quickly. I will try this again some day with modifications. It looked nice, but the flavor punch was not as good as I expected--particularly for as long as it took to prepare. ADDENDUM: My wife and I both agreed that after sitting in the refrigerator for a day, this soup tasted better. So I'm adding another 1/2 point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States