Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
We loved these, but I'm not giving 5 stars for 2 reasons. First, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter, and I think they would have been a little bland without that (though not terrible). I also felt like there wasn't enough fruit, even after replacing the walnuts with an equal amount of additional rhubarb. This recipe was still very good, in spite of those minor details! Even my picky toddler enjoyed a muffin. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I can't imagine a better rhubarb muffin recipe. They have wonderful texture, not too much oil, and great taste. The streusel really makes it. Follow recipe exactly (though I used milk with vinegar to replace buttermilk). No need to change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These are unbelievably tasty muffins. I brought these and some To Die For Blueberry Muffins with me this weekend for the green room of an event I staff, and they were both a big hit. The first person there who tried one stopped in the middle of a conversation he was having to state, "What you're saying is great, but the only thing that matters right now is how delicious this muffin is." The recipe makes roughly 24 small muffins, the event started Friday, and by Saturday afternoon there were only two left, and those were gone the next day. We only left them out during the mornings, so they went like hotcakes. I will definitely be bringing these to the green room next year, and plan on keeping them in my regular rotation as well. Possibly the greatest muffins of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Tasty! Another good rhubarb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Such a good use for rhubarb - not too sweet, just perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've been making muffins for years and these muffins are the best I've ever made. Family raved over them!! When I tried one I loved the texture and flavour. This is going in my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I love rhubarb and this is a great recipe. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1/3 cup instead of the 1/2 cup measure. It was not a preference, I just read my measuring cups wrong. With this mistake, they are still tasty and moist. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
These are very good. I followed the advice to add more rhubarb and I think that was absolutely necessary. I ended up adding a total of 2 1/4 cups and next time think I'll use another half. I also added a bit of cinnamon to the batter which was a good choice. I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil, a change I almost always make and a good choice given the oily feel of the muffin liners as I took these out of the pan. I used almonds for the nuts and also used almond extract instead of vanilla. I doubled the amount of topping using 1/3 cup white and 1/3 cup brown sugar. I worked in softened butter and also added some broken almond slices. That was necessary to get enough topping for the 24 standard sized muffins that I got out of this recipe. A good mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I've never made anything with rhubarb, so I was pretty sure this was going to taste very tart. Nope, not at all! Nice and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States