Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Wonderful recipe. The ingredients mixed up a little drier than I am used to for muffin recipes, so it had me nervous. But they cooked up to perfection. Note: This recipe is easily modified for other fruits. I did not use rhubarb and nuts, and instead added lemon zest and cranberries. I used juice from the lemon I zested to make buttermilk out of 2% I had on hand. Update: I made this recipe again. This time, I subbed a little more than half of the oil with unsweetened applesauce. This change made no discernible difference in the end product. Spectacular muffins- excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Used 2 C rhubarb and 1 cup strawberries. Was out of oil so used melted butter-added 2T extra. Dark Brown sugar. Topping Raw sugar/butter/cinnamon. Made 12 jumbo muffins. 30 min to cook. Superb! Let rest before taking out of pan so they can set. Flavor not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fab., however rhubarb out of season so made it with cooking apple and pecans instead of Rhubarb and walnuts tastes great... Next time I think I will make them as cupcakes with apple frosting... Yum yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Our family looooved these muffins. I made them according to the recipe except: 1) I substituted organic coconut palm sugar for ALL the brown sugar in the recipe and added some extra cinnamon to the batter as well as to the topping. 2) I had to sour some regular milk using vinegar, as I didn't have any buttermilk on hand. My whole family loved these muffins and didn't miss the higher glycemic brown sugar AT ALL. Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was my first time making muffins. Great recipe! I couldn't find rhubarb so I used cut strawberries instead. I added 1/2 cup of oats to soak up the extra juiciness, and it worked out perfectly! I also threw a little ginger and cinnamon into the batter and used the same spices and some more chopped walnuts instead of sugar on the topping. With the strawberries, it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Yummy muffins. I only had 1 C of frz rhubarb so I added enough re-hydrated dried cherries for the other 1/2 cup. When our rhubarb grows again...I'll use 2 cups. Added 1 tsp salt versus 1/2. I personal liked the walnuts in these. I did cut back to 1 C of brn sugar ~ it's a personal pref. As other's I used butter instead of oil. I also made 1/2 again more of the topping so I'd have enough. Oh, also added cinnamon & a little nutmeg in the batter. I only got 11 normal size muffins for some reason. These barely lasted 2 days between 2 of us. Thanks for the recipe charliebabe. I'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
i agree with some of the other commenters..put cinnamon in the batter, too, and increase the rhubarb to at least 2 cups. i also used butter (not melted) as i was out of oil and it worked just fine. the batter was lumpier but turned out fine in the end i also melted a bit of extra butter and threw a couple of handfuls of rolled oats in the streusel part for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Redneck_Medic
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
These are great! First time using rhubarb in something other than pie and they turned out fantastic! I did make a few changes based on some of the other reviews/recommendations. I used 1.5tsp Baking Powder, I added 1tsp of cinnamon to the batter, I omitted the walnuts (will try them next time), I used 2 cups of rhubarb and I doubled the topping (which made a bit too much). I think the extra rhubarb was just right. Well definitely be adding these to my favourites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These came out very good. My son is the only one that likes rhubarb and after these no one in my family can say they don't like it again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States