Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Our family looooved these muffins. I made them according to the recipe except: 1) I substituted organic coconut palm sugar for ALL the brown sugar in the recipe and added some extra cinnamon to the batter as well as to the topping. 2) I had to sour some regular milk using vinegar, as I didn't have any buttermilk on hand. My whole family loved these muffins and didn't miss the higher glycemic brown sugar AT ALL. Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was my first time making muffins. Great recipe! I couldn't find rhubarb so I used cut strawberries instead. I added 1/2 cup of oats to soak up the extra juiciness, and it worked out perfectly! I also threw a little ginger and cinnamon into the batter and used the same spices and some more chopped walnuts instead of sugar on the topping. With the strawberries, it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Yummy muffins. I only had 1 C of frz rhubarb so I added enough re-hydrated dried cherries for the other 1/2 cup. When our rhubarb grows again...I'll use 2 cups. Added 1 tsp salt versus 1/2. I personal liked the walnuts in these. I did cut back to 1 C of brn sugar ~ it's a personal pref. As other's I used butter instead of oil. I also made 1/2 again more of the topping so I'd have enough. Oh, also added cinnamon & a little nutmeg in the batter. I only got 11 normal size muffins for some reason. These barely lasted 2 days between 2 of us. Thanks for the recipe charliebabe. I'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
i agree with some of the other commenters..put cinnamon in the batter, too, and increase the rhubarb to at least 2 cups. i also used butter (not melted) as i was out of oil and it worked just fine. the batter was lumpier but turned out fine in the end i also melted a bit of extra butter and threw a couple of handfuls of rolled oats in the streusel part for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Redneck_Medic
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
These are great! First time using rhubarb in something other than pie and they turned out fantastic! I did make a few changes based on some of the other reviews/recommendations. I used 1.5tsp Baking Powder, I added 1tsp of cinnamon to the batter, I omitted the walnuts (will try them next time), I used 2 cups of rhubarb and I doubled the topping (which made a bit too much). I think the extra rhubarb was just right. Well definitely be adding these to my favourites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These came out very good. My son is the only one that likes rhubarb and after these no one in my family can say they don't like it again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent texture, crisp crust and a perfect balance of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Oh my gosh these are SO !! good My husband loved them & he is picky. I added a little bit more rhubard than called for-YUM !!!!! So nice & moist. These muffins would be great with any kind of fruit added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilbitty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
very moist and batter is DELICIOUS. That said, I used 2 cups of rhubarb and added extra cinnamon to the batter but still found the muffins to be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Everyone loved these including the little ones that wanted more "apple" muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States