Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
My son had picked some rhubarb and wanted me to "make something yummy" with it so I though muffins would be quick and fairly easy. I made this recipe just how it says and it was good! It was sweet with the tart little bits of rhubarb which seemed alittle strange at first but worked. Besides the topping they are a tad bit bland (my son declared after the 2nd muffin that he now only likes the top) but unless I come across a better recipe I will probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I left out the nuts and used regular milk instead of buttermilk and they still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This recipe was way too sweet for me. The topping put the muffins way over the top for sugar. I followed the recipe as it was printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I couldn't remember if I had left my review of these muffins but I am getting ready to make them again and cannot say enough about how wonderful these little gems are! I have honestly never had a better muffin from anyone or anywhere else in my life. These are delicious! One time, I made them for my sister (she isn't a fan of rhubarb) and used raspberries. Even with the substitution, these were still amazing! I like the recipe the way it is written. You do not need to run out and buy a container of buttermilk either. As long as you have some milk and vinegar, it is just the same. I strongly recommend this recipe for rhubarb lovers who are looking for a new, delicious way to use up some of your rhubarb and for those who aren't sure if they like rhubarb. These muffins will seal the deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Baked this recipe as written and was rewarded with my favorite homemade muffins to date! Moist, fluffy, perfect balance of sweet and tart with that cinnamon kick. As the recipe implores, be sure not to overmix your batter to ensure this outcome. The neighbors were delighted, as were my rhubarb-doubtful husband and son. Now, to bake more deliciousness with the leftover buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gaudette Brewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Wonderful! Like others, I used 2 cups of rhubarb. This is my favorite muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Made it healthier. Used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup Spelt flour, 1/2 cup unbleached flour instead of 2 1/2 cups of flour. Used 1/4 cup melted organic coconut oil and 1 small container applesauce instead of oil. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
My only complaint is the recipe needs to be doubled . They turned out excellent and I might share some with my friends , (MIGHT ) . Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodelicious
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
As soon as I saw fresh rhubarb in the market, I knew I had to get baking. These turned out just great! Full disclosure: I used butter instead of oil (don't judge me) and I didn't add walnuts. Also, it turned out that my rhubarb measured at 2 cups instead of 1.5, so I just threw the whole thing in there. It was still wonderful. I especially love how easy it was to make a streusel topping with melted butter. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by nicholio
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Mmmm. Rhubarb! I love the tang of the buttermilk in the batter, and the streusel on top is a particularly yummy touch. I subbed in 1 cup of whole-wheat flour for some of the white. Next time, I might put the walnuts in the topping, instead of tucking them in the batter, because they'll get toasted that way and I'm crazy like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States