Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
These are really good! I used almond milk instead of buttermilk and skipped the walnuts. A big hit with my toddler and her visiting young cousins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hugatree
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I dont like rubarb that much but I loved these muffins! I added an extra cup of rhubarb and next time will add some sour cream but this recipe was excellent. It will defanatly be a new staple at our house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugatree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
These were exquisite....moist and delicious. Can't wait to make them again. Left out the walnuts because I'm not a big fan and added an extra 1/2 cup of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Wonderful! I also used 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 2 C rhubarb, & no nuts. Indulgent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I leave off the topping. My grandson loves one of these, yogurt, & juice for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
i love rhubarb but not a fan of muffins until my daughter made these. they were in the new issue of all recipes magazine and with all the fresh rhubarb out we decided to try them. they are the best muffin I have ever had. the only change we made was to sub the vanilla with almond extract. we love almond extract with fruit(try in cherry pie, to die for}. these are a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Delicious! Didn't put on the topping as I am trying to cut back on sugars, and there is already plenty in the recipe. I used half homemade applesauce and half oil instead of all oil. Milk + 1 T vinegar worked fine for the buttermilk as I didn't have that on hand. Frozen, thawed and drained rhubarb worked very nicely. Sifted the dry ingredients before gently blending them in. Very good texture, and nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Wonderful recipe. The ingredients mixed up a little drier than I am used to for muffin recipes, so it had me nervous. But they cooked up to perfection. Note: This recipe is easily modified for other fruits. I did not use rhubarb and nuts, and instead added lemon zest and cranberries. I used juice from the lemon I zested to make buttermilk out of 2% I had on hand. Update: I made this recipe again. This time, I subbed a little more than half of the oil with unsweetened applesauce. This change made no discernible difference in the end product. Spectacular muffins- excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Used 2 C rhubarb and 1 cup strawberries. Was out of oil so used melted butter-added 2T extra. Dark Brown sugar. Topping Raw sugar/butter/cinnamon. Made 12 jumbo muffins. 30 min to cook. Superb! Let rest before taking out of pan so they can set. Flavor not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States