Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This recipe is fabulous. I never review recipes that I've changed. I made this as written, EXCEPT for the nuts which I left out. I am a muffin maker, and this is one of the best I've ever made. Thanks so much for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Huge hit at home and at work! I made as written, but next time I'm going to increase the rhubarb to 2 cups. There is enough batter to sustain the extra 1/2 cup. I don't think the butter is needed for the topping. Sprinkle on the cinnamon/sugar mixture and proceed with baking. I baked in mini muffin pans and the recipe made 48 minis and 1 regular size muffin. A delicious use of rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
YUM!!! This is my second recipe experimenting with rhubarb. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1/2 milk (I halved the recipe for our family) and 2 tsp. white vinegar and let it set until I had everything else ready. I also used slightly less brown sugar and added just a pinch more baking powder (1/4 tsp.) and about a 1/2 tsp.of cinnamon and added 1/4 - 1/2 c. more rhubarb based on reviews. I also replaced the vegetable oil with walnut oil; it adds a nice subtle nutty flavor. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Lovely. Will definitely make again. Left out the walnuts as I'm not crazy about them. Diane White Rock, BC Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valee
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Delicious!! Second time I made then in a week, everyone just loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
My son had picked some rhubarb and wanted me to "make something yummy" with it so I though muffins would be quick and fairly easy. I made this recipe just how it says and it was good! It was sweet with the tart little bits of rhubarb which seemed alittle strange at first but worked. Besides the topping they are a tad bit bland (my son declared after the 2nd muffin that he now only likes the top) but unless I come across a better recipe I will probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I left out the nuts and used regular milk instead of buttermilk and they still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This recipe was way too sweet for me. The topping put the muffins way over the top for sugar. I followed the recipe as it was printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I couldn't remember if I had left my review of these muffins but I am getting ready to make them again and cannot say enough about how wonderful these little gems are! I have honestly never had a better muffin from anyone or anywhere else in my life. These are delicious! One time, I made them for my sister (she isn't a fan of rhubarb) and used raspberries. Even with the substitution, these were still amazing! I like the recipe the way it is written. You do not need to run out and buy a container of buttermilk either. As long as you have some milk and vinegar, it is just the same. I strongly recommend this recipe for rhubarb lovers who are looking for a new, delicious way to use up some of your rhubarb and for those who aren't sure if they like rhubarb. These muffins will seal the deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Baked this recipe as written and was rewarded with my favorite homemade muffins to date! Moist, fluffy, perfect balance of sweet and tart with that cinnamon kick. As the recipe implores, be sure not to overmix your batter to ensure this outcome. The neighbors were delighted, as were my rhubarb-doubtful husband and son. Now, to bake more deliciousness with the leftover buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gaudette Brewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States