Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made three small adjustments: left out the walnuts (I'm not sure that would go with this...), used only about 3/4 cups brown sugar, and had an extra half cup of rhubarb so I used it all. I also did the milk with vinegar trick instead of buttermilk. These are wonderful! Fluffy, moist, tasty, great crumbly, crunchy top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
The sweet crunch on the top is perfect for the tartness of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gudrun Biemann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
These are delicious! Unfortunately my 2 oldest boys did not like them (fault of the rhubarb, or perhaps pieces which were cut too large for their liking). I changed it up only a bit to suit our tastes and what I had on hand. I hadn't any white sugar on hand, so I subbed brown sugar for the topping. Nor did I have walnuts, so I just left those out. We also like to add a little rye flour to all our recipes, so 1/5 of the flour was rye and we only keep milk kefir around, so I used that instead of buttermilk. Lastly, I cut the sugar down to just 1 cup for the muffins. These were very moist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is now my go-to recipe for Rhubarb Muffins. Fabulous! I had to make some adjustment due to ingredient shortage/lack: Used 2 c flour + 1/4 c ground flax + 1/4 c ground almond meal to make the difference. I also added a dash of cinnamon to the muffin batter. Used 1/4 c veg oil + 1/4 c coconut oil. And because I have nut-haters at my house, I left the walnuts out and used extra rhubarb. I will never use another recipe! These turned out 16 muffins, rather than two dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Yep..good, very good but mine fell in the middle. I didn't use nuts as the kids cannot take any tree nut/ground nut products to school. I added some coarse oats for some fibre and protein. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
These muffins are so good. Moist and tangy with the rhubarb. I didn't add the nuts and they still were great. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Excellent! I substituted applesauce for the oil. They came out nice and dense and yummy! Didn't use anywhere near all the sugar topping. You could cut those ingredients in half and still have plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
my husband absolutely loved these. i didnt make any changes. this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I made these exactly as directed and I found the contrast between the sour rhubarb and the muffin mix unpleasant. The muffins were too moist even though I baked them for an additional 5 minutes. I love using rhubarb in the spring, but this recipe won't be one I use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Good. Subbed pecans for walnuts. The predominant flavors were cinnamon and nuts. Make sure the topping is spread evenly or any clumps will sink into the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States