Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Read all the reviews and made them just as written except I didn't have buttermilk on hand and couldn't shop, so I put 2 tsp of vinegar in a cup of milk and let it set up. Muffins smelled so fabulous and were delicious. Only drawback was I couldn't stop licking the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I believe between the three of us, Aunt Norma, charliebabe (the submitter) and me, these muffins made rhubarb lovers out of a number of Floridians who had never tasted the stuff before! I deliberately brought some of my garden rhubarb in Wisconsin down to our place in Naples, FL as I wanted to treat the folks here. I am so pleased that these muffins showcased this “pie plant” so well! I had no fresh buttermilk on hand, but buttermilk powder proved to be a worthy substitute. Because of the brown sugar, they are a rich, caramel color. And because I mixed the batter only till combined, leaving behind some lumps, they were light, tender and fluffy. The amount of rhubarb was just right – sometimes I find rhubarb baked goods (apple too, for that matter) that are too heavy with the fruit, with very little “cake.” It probably is just a subjective thing, but my preference would be to make these without the walnuts – I found the flavor of them a little distracting. As for the topping, it is buttery, cinnamon sweetness, but it’s a good thing I got 18 muffins with my muffin tins rather than 24, as I don’t think there would have been enough topping for another six! Just excellent, with old-fashioned homemade appeal and I believe these would be just as good using other fruits if rhubarb is not available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
A very nice recipe. I added an extra cup of rhubarb and more cinammon. Especially good with coffee! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Delicious!! I did make a few changes to the recipe. I used 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder to make them a little more fluffy. I also didn't have buttermilk so I put 1 tbsp. of white vinegar in a 1 cup measuring cup and filled the rest with milk and let it stand for 5 minutes. I used 2 cups of rhubarb and it was perfect. I also omitted the walnuts because I'm not a big fan. These were the BEST MUFFINS I've made in a while (and I bake a lot of muffins!!). I'll definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These are absolutly delicious. I replaced the oil by Apple Sauce to make them less fatening. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
do not change a thing to this recipe unless you are like me and love cinnamon. 1 tsp (or 1 tbsp if you are like me) of cinnamon is a wonderful compliment to this already great muffin. Muffins are my specialty and people would buy them in the dozens in my cafe. I can tell you 2 bowls are NOT necessary. Add all your dry ingredients into a large bowl to start. Stir to ensure baking powder and soda are completely mixed into the flour. Then drop in wet ingredients on top. Stir JUST UNTIL MOIST! Using a fork, continue to fold in dry ingredients into the wet in the centre of the bowl. When you don't see any more dry ingredients STOP! Batter will be thick. If your muffins are always tough, you are stiring them too long and with too much "stir". Be gentle. Don't stir the air out of them. (if you don't have butter milk, just add 1 tbsp of white vinegar or lemon juice into your milk and let sit while you add all the other ingredients). thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I loved them! YUM! Quite possibly the best muffins I've ever had. I used 2 cups of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegatarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
My whole family loved these - and I even snuck in whole wheat flour for half of the flour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I really am enjoying these ones. I messed up a little and used the big chunky rhubarb I had cut up to make a crisp - a few of the muffins fell apart because of it. Great recipe - will be making a lot of these ones!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These muffins are FANTASTIC! I made a couple of little changes to them though. -I added 1 tsp cinnamon to the batter. -I used 1 cup chopped rhubarb (frozen) and 1 cup chopped strawberries (fresh). -And for the topping I used a different recipe from my favorite muffins: 1/3 cup packed brown sugar 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1 tablespoon butter All in all this may be my new favorite muffin! Thanks Aunt Norma ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States