Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is especially delicious warm. Made it with 2 cups of rhubarb (saw that someone suggested this). Mine only made 16 - but they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is a great recipie, (I add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter as well). The muffin tastes great and the topping gives them a fancy, bakeryl-like feel. Pay attention to the amount of rhubarb, I've made it with 2 full cups and it lost its nice, 'cake-like' bouncy ness! A nice alternative to rhubarb pie :) thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Hirota
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Very nice! I made only a few small modifications to the recipe. First, I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added 1.5 tsp. of baking powder for nice, fluffy muffins. I also added a healthy shake of cinnamon to the dry ingredients - it just seemed like the right thing to do! They turned out great - just the right amount of sweetness for the tart rhubarb, especially with the topping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Hirota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I eliminated the oil and buttermilk, and substituted Greek vanilla yogurt. They turned out great! My mother makes rhubarb sauce (just like apple sauce but with rhubarb)--next time, I'll use some of that with the yogurt to give the cake part of the muffin a little more rhubarb flavor. Yum! My husband ate 5 right out of the oven. Like other raters, I didn't use nuts in my recipe--they didn't need any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauri
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very good recipe. I followed recipe as written plus added 1/2 cup fresh blueberries. It made 20 nice sized muffins. I could have gotten 24 if I didn't quite fill papers to the top. My topping was more drizzly rather than crumbly (probably because I melted butter in microwave )but it didn't take away from the flavor. For a crumble topping I would just cut cold butter into sugar cinnamon mix. Will definately make again and experiment w/various fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Just perfect - didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
These were delicious! After reading the reviews, I increased the rhubarb to 2 cups, chopped into very small pieces. I also added a little bit of oatmeal to the sugar topping and I really liked the texture. I was missing one of my muffin pans, so I ended up making 4 muffins and putting the rest of the batter in a 8x8 pan and both versions were very good. I think that a 9 x 13 pan would work well for all of the batter - I just wanted to try it in muffin form as well. I really liked the texture of the muffin and I think that I will use this as my basic muffin recipe (once rhubarb is out of season). I LOVE the flavor of rhubarb, but I think that it will work well with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
To die for! I took other reviewers suggestions and made it 2 full cups of finely chopped rhubarb (used my hand chopper) and omitted the walnuts (which I usually adore). The rhubarb definitely took center stage. I'm going to have a hard time using my rhubarb for anything else! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I really like this recipe. I think for the topping I had too much butter because it was a bit too liquid to sprinkle, but I eyeballed this measurement so could be me. My son insisted on sprinkles on top of some of the muffins. In order to be able to send as a school snack (nut free) I replaced the walnuts with white chocolate chips which were very good. Kids loved these. I also boiled the rhubarb and also added a handful of frozen strawberries. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding some diced strawberries. They were great! This would be a great muffin base for any fruit/nut/etc. that you wanted to add
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States