Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe was really delicious it created a muffin that was sweet but not too sweet and it had just a slight amount of tart from the rhubarb but not a lot and that sugar topping was super delicious it added a nice little bit of texture and contrast to the moist,soft muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
The hardest part about this recipe is getting rhubarb in season. I made 18 muffins - couldn't quite stretch it to 24. Tasted great even with the healthier substitutions of half wheat flour, unsweetened applesauce (no oil), and Splendas for the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kennycooks
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Love this recipe! I omitted the walnuts and added a cup more of finely chopped rhubarb. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this recipe using two cups of frozen rhubarb as some other commenters had mentioned. I'm glad I did as it was the perfect amount of fruit for this muffin. Really nice balance of flavours in this muffin. If I have rhubarb on hand again I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I am a newbie to the taste of rhubarb and I would have to say this is a hand's down favorite of the different things I have tried with Rhubarb - I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
These are wonderful muffins - the best rhubarb muffins I've ever made or tasted. I increased the rhubarb to 2c but will make it 3c next time to get more flavor of the rhubarb; I'll also add cinnamon in the batter, as well as the topping. The only reason for giving 4 stars instead of 5: it's a stretch to say you get 24 muffins out of this recipe - I did get 24 but there some very small muffins in the batch. I'd say 20 might be more realistic. I'll juggle the ingredients a bit to get 24 good-sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Loved this recipe..will add more rhubarb in my next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karine Borrowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Loved loved loved these muffins. I added 2 cups of rhubarb too and it was yummy. A few batches I made with the sugar topping and then some other batches I didn't. Just as good without the topping, as you can taste the tartness more. Will do it again that is for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
We loved these, but I'm not giving 5 stars for 2 reasons. First, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter, and I think they would have been a little bland without that (though not terrible). I also felt like there wasn't enough fruit, even after replacing the walnuts with an equal amount of additional rhubarb. This recipe was still very good, in spite of those minor details! Even my picky toddler enjoyed a muffin. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I can't imagine a better rhubarb muffin recipe. They have wonderful texture, not too much oil, and great taste. The streusel really makes it. Follow recipe exactly (though I used milk with vinegar to replace buttermilk). No need to change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States