Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I have made this recipe several times now, and love the rhubarb which I just dice and throw in, it gives it a lovely tang to the muffins. I didn't like the sugar topping much so I shall just sprinkle cinnamon over them next time. Why this fad for mixing food with hands, it is so messy, what is wrong with spoons and spatulas, they do the job just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T and these are amazing! will definitely make a double batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leaca Moerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Photo by CLH2346
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
SO good! I was gifted some rhubarb recently and scoured the internet looking for what to do with it. These caught me right away, I've not made muffins before (very new baker), so I decided to give it a go. SO glad I did. Easy, but so much delightful flavor. I really like the walnuts, unlike a few others, I think they add some texture that they may suffer without, however if I make them again (which I plan to) I may use a different nut. Very, very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH2346

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturbridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe was a huge hit at our girls weekend. Everyone loved them. Not too sweet or tart and the topping is just right. Very moist so I will try with app,e or blueberry the next time. These made me wish I had more rhubarb! I too used 2 cups of rhubarb and they were perfect! Thanks for this recipe, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
First time I've ever tried rhubarb, and this looked like a fairly simple recipe to start with. It was pretty easy to make, and the muffins are delicious!! My husband's first rhubarb experience as well, and I'm happy to say he likes them too!. Bought too much from the farmer's market, so debating whether to make more of these and freeze them, or try a different recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
These muffins do not last long! They have a simple flavor, but they are addicting all the same. The first time I made them omitted the nuts and added an extra 1/2 cup of rhubarb. I also didn't do the topping and used coconut oil for instead of vegetable. But I thought the rhubarb was a bit tart. So the second time I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter and then mixed 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon with the rhubarb before mixing it into the batter. That helped with the tartness, I think I would add more cinnamon next time and maybe some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
These are light and delicious, I also used sour milk in place of buttermilk and omitted the nuts (family choice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These are absolutely delicious! I made one batch as instructed, they were great. The next one I added 2 cups of rhubarb and put a small dollop of cream cheese in the centers.Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anijjar
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
My absolute favorite muffins. I leave out the nuts, fill the paper muffin cups to almost the top and use extra topping. They come out big, super moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States