Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great base of a recipe. I change things up a bit. Per others suggestion, I added cooked rice to the mixture (I don't measure, just eye-ball how much I want) and substituted Cheddar for American cheese. Before I made the cream sauce, I sauted roughly chopped onions in some garlic in a sauce pan, then add the cream sauce ingredients when the onions were ready. The last time I made this, I put fried onions on top. My husband loved it that way. It reminded him of a green bean casserole. He suggested putting the fried onions in the casserole. Will try it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I made this because I had a 3lb bad of broccoli that was about to go bad. We LOVE broccoli so I thought we couldn't go wrong with anything we tried. I used extra sharp cheddar & 2% milk cheddar for the cheese. I used low sodium low fat cream of mush. I didn't add any salt because I couldn't see needing it with all the sodium in the cream of mush. I also added bacon for the carnivore that is my husband. This was pretty good but I felt terrible for eating it. It's a good way to trick your kids into eating their veggies but I just assume not lead my kids to believe that all veggies need tons of cheese, dressing and gravy to be good. We'll stick with our steamed broccoli with sea salt. I give it 3 stars because it was good tasting - but I just can't feel good about eating it. This would be a good dish for holidays, but def not a regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Fantastic and very easy!! I served it over baked potatoes, and even my very young picky guests ate their broccoli!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanghai Siri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe is exquisite! I prepared it and it was a surprise for my husband when he came home. I served it with Beef and vegetable Kebabs. Just unique for a nice dinner or if you have people coming over. Thanks to the original submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
My boyfriend that hates broccoli actually ate this! I put ritz crackers as well instead of the croutons and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is awesome- I did it with the extra milk to put rice in but forgot the rice. It was creamy and saucy- loved it. Doesn't need rice but I had a taste for it. This is a keeper- thanks Aunt Millie. I used cheddar instead of American though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is my first review, though, I have tried many on the site. I really liked this method of cooking broccoli. I substituted Panko instead of crutons on crackers and it was magic. And the less salt and pepper was correct. Good work reviewers! Five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kowaiyama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Very Good!!I substituted the croutons for crushed Ritz crackers, and did not put quite so much pepper. Thank you so much! I use this recipe all of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I used low-fat ingredients and it was still a hit! My father-in-law is not a lover of greens and he actually had seconds. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Awesome recipe. I used a combo of american and mild cheddar, then added 1/2 cup milk and one cup cooked instant rice for an amazing broccoli & rice casserole. Everyone ate it up, even my 7 yr old who hates broccoli. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Neal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States