Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe was a HIT at a party last night. Every bit was eaten and everyone commented on how good it was and asked for the recipe. The fresh broccoli is key. I didn't put any salt in it and halved the pepper. I added half a container of sour cream to the soup mixture and a splash of milk, and of course, I added extra cheese (cheddar, not American). For the topping, I used a stick of melted butter and a sleeve of crushed ritz crackers. You have to try this kind! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I used cheddar cheese and added a little Pappy's seasoning and it was great! I too used the ritz crackers for the topping, but could see how the dressing on top could be probably just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talkin T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a great side dish for my Thanksgiving feast. I also tweaked the recipe according to the many comments I read -- just a pinch of salt and pepper. I also planned to use cream of celery, but when I got to the grocery store I noticed a can of Campbell's broccoli cheese soup right next to it, and I thought "why not? how bad can it be?" Well it was FANTASTIC. I hardly had to use any additional cheese because the flavor of the soup was so cheesy already. Just about 1/2 cup of shredded sharp cheddar, and a little milk to thin out the soup. I also used Reduced Fat Ritz crackers. It was fantastic! I found myself devouring this first, even before the turkey. This dish was the first one to go -- NO leftovers--which made me a little sad, but I will definitely be making this again soon. So simple and a total crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Based on other reviews, I tried this dish for Thanksgiving instead of the family recipe we traditionally served every year. My family loved it! The only changes I made were to use cream of celery soup, and stuffing mix for the topping, as those were the ingredients I had on hand. Personally, I think I'd prefer the cracker topping, but my family insists I don't change a thing next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used cheddar instead of american cheese. Instead of using the butter to coat the croutons, I mixed it in with the melted cheese and cream of mushroom soup. I didn't boil the broccoli in saltwater. They way I did it was excellent and everybody liked it at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I have made this recipe a bunch of times and every time I make it I add less and less pepper. Use around a 1/4 of a tsp. Otherwise it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I love this! I did make a few flavor changes here you go... you have to try Progresso's new Italian Panko bread crumbs. Oh My.... I was licking the spoon For the cheese, add a little parmesan in to replace some of the salt, the cheese and soup have enough For your broccoli, add a little chicken broth and garlic salt to the water for extra flavor I added a splash of milk when melting my cheese which was a cheddar and mozzarella mix add an extra cup of cheese on top before bread crumbs with an extra tablespoon of melted butter Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
What a great way to eat broccoli! I used a two 12 oz. bags of fresh Dole broccoli (no chopping needed). Instead of boiling broccoli I steamed it for a minute. I also added about 1/4 cup half & half. Decided like others to use ritz crackers in stead of bread crumbs. First thing my hubby said was mmmm--it's hard to get much out of him & he's a tough critic, so that meant he really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This recipe is simple and yummy. I did 2 things differently. First, I ran out of cheddar, so I used Velveeta. Second, I didn't add any salt. The dish turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States