Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I used half of the fresh broccoli, baked it in a deep casserole dish, omitted the salt entirely and used approximately all of the black pepper. I also used homemade seasoned croutons, uncrushed. It was delicious and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I used frozen broccoli. The result was very tasty but a little salty. They sometimes add salts to frozen or prepackages veggies, so this is probably the case. I also used crushed veggie crisps instead of the butter/crouton topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Awesome Casserole. I steamed the broccoli instead of boiling it and used Cheddar Jack cheese instead of American. I also added a half cup of cooked rice. Seasoning I eye-measured myself, some people prefer more salt some less, so I always just go by what feels right for me. I loved the seasoned croutons. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I make a slightly different variation of this recipe - I don't precook the broccoli, so it's nice and firm after its been baked, I add a layer of mushrooms and onions that have been fried on top of the broccoli, cover it with mushroom soup and then add cheese - I make two layers and then bake it until the cheese has melted and bubbly - has been a family favourite of ours for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I love that this uses fresh broccoli! Per other reviews, I didn't add the salt and thought it was perfect. Also, I used cheddar and parmesan because that's what I had on hand. I would imagine you could use any cheese and have this be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Definitely not low-fat, but it does get the kiddos to eat their veggies! Similar to others, I used "real" cheese instead of processed, and I successfully used a mish-mash of random spare vegetables from the fridge and freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was really good. I however, changed a few things I used one can of mushroom soup and one can of celery soup, I used cheddar instead of american cheese and I use Ritz Crackers, I barely tasted it at church it was gone faster then I could get in on the table good. I used salt and pepper but very little theres alot of salt in the cheese and crackers so it was really a hit and I wll be making it for Thanksgivin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I made this to take to our family Rosh Hashanah dinner--OMG! Everyone just loved this dish. I left out the salt and pepper because the soup and cheese had enough salt of their own and Hub's tum can't tolerate black pepper. Also, the croutons I used were very well seasoned, so for our family, the salt and pepper weren't used. And honestly, I don't think they were needed. I used mostly American cheese and added in whatever I had left in the coldcut drawer--there was some cheddar with horseradish, some swiss and some shredded cheese blend. This was just totally awesome and sooooo easy to make. I can't give ten stars but I would if I could. Bravo! (As an afterthought--I think I would like to try this again using reduced fat cheese and cut down on the butter too. I think it would also be good, perhaps just seven stars instead of ten, but still quite yum.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I was pretty disappointed in this recipe I must say. Way too much salt and pepper....it probably should only have 1/2 tsp of both. The casserole was also very thin in a 9X13 pan. It probably needed more soup. Amount of broccoli and bread crumbs seemed good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This casserole tasted warm and comfy, but the broccoli turned out too mushy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States