Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I love this dish! Its so simple but so good! I make as a sidedish or maindish. I replace the crutons with crushed cheese crackers. Try adding pre-cookes chicken for a yummy and quick maindish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is so good.. I love broccoli and this recipe made it even better. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup the second time making this so I used cream of chicken which turned out so good.. I prefer the cream of chicken soup better. I did lower the salt both times and glad I did the soups have a salt taste which gives it enough. The 2nd try I added 1 tsp. italian seasoning to my bread crumb mixture. I will add the extra seasonings from now on it gave it that ump I thought it was missing.. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was very, very good - although I did alter the recipe based on other reviews. I used cream of celery instead of mushroom, I used about 1 cup of white cheddar in place of the American cheese and I used crushed Ritz crackers mixed with melted butter for the topping. The end result was delicous and my 4 year old ate it - which is a very good sign. We will make this again for sure - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Made this Christmas Day. Had to bring a vegetable side dish. Was really good! Even had a, "This was really good, how did you make it?" I used the suggestions of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken, 3 cups of cheddar cheese and used 1/2 cup to a cup of half n half when mixing the cheese together with the creams. I used another suggestion of adding crumbled bacon to the topping. I used the drippings from the bacon and from another suggestion, sauted the finely chopped onions and finely chopped mushrooms, 3 or 4 mushrooms, not to much. Then from another suggestion, threw in two sleeves of the crushed Ritz Crackers and sauteed that with onions and mushrooms and added the 4 tablespoons of butter. Most of the work was after steaming the four heads of broccoli. The chopping and peeling off the layer of skin was a bit of work but, worth it. Thanks to ALL for your suggestions, LOL! It was a hit! P.S used only a little bit of pepper, yes..from another suggestion. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I felt like the flavors competed with each other and didn't really mesh well. The topping was unnecessary in my opinion. The broccoli was cooked perfectly, but it could have done without the pepper and about half of the cheese. I might make again with radical changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
DELICOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brit B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was very good, I made with brocolli and cauliflower. Cut back to 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper and add 1/2 tsp each of garlic and onion powder plus several good shakes of tabasco - just our preference for seasoning. I still felt like it was missing something so I sauted 1/2 of a chopped onion and added that. Used 1/2 american cheese slices and half sharp chedder. I needed to add 1/4 cup of milk to get everything to combine - zapped it all in the mircrowave right in the casserole dish while the brocolli was steaming. Topped with crushed cheese crackers because thats all I had. I will use this modified version from now on - it was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have been making this for years. It has become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was just OK for me...nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
No offense to Aunt Millie, but I was hoping this would be like the dish we used to have at all our family dinners when I was growing up, but it wasn't. Not 'bad', but will keep searching. Was too salty in my opinion and could use rice mixed in. Was too close to just melted cheese over broccoli, but thank you for submitting just the same! To each his own! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States