Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love broccolli but this one was waaay to salty for me (I did follow the recipe exactly) and I was unsure if I should add a cup of water with the condensed soup (so I didnt) and the mixture just seemed to thick and not enough to coat. I will make this again but use no salt and more cheese and I think that will make it perfect. Thank you for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
With recipe as written I give it 3 stars due to WAY too much pepper and a little too much salt. I honestly think 1/2 tsp pepper would be enough for this dish. Unfortunately I forgot to re-read the reviews right before making the dish. My judgement told me to put less pepper in, but then I followed the recipe because I don't like to make any alterations the first time around. As soon as I stirred it in I knew it was a mistake as the whole sauce turned from orangey-yellow to a greyish color. It was very salty as well, but I can deal with that. Changing the pepper to 1/2-1 tsp and the salt to maybe 1 tsp would make this a 5-star dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tchilvere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Really easy. I used 2 cups sharp cheddar, 1/2 sauteed onion, and 1/2 cup low fat sour cream. Did not add salt, as recommended by others. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I followed some of the recommendations made and this turned out very good. I used cream of celery soup, sharp cheddar, and ritz crackers. Also added NO salt. I would make it exactly the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Yummy comfort food. Not great for the waistline though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I used slices of Kraft singles American cheese. about 8 of them. and I added some sliced mushrooms. Instead of the topping, I crumbled cooked turkey bacon over the top. If you boil or steam the broccoli a little longer, you don't have to cook it as long. I baked mine for 15 minutes so the mushrooms could soften, but since everything is cooked and then added to the same dish, you really don't have to bake it if you don't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Good recipe. A little too much salt and pepper for me, so I toned those down a notch. But otherwise wonderful. Made this with cream of chicken soup also once. Substituted Velveeta cheese in one occasion too. Still turned out well. Great base with room to play.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
So good - but WAY too much salt! I didn't read the reviews before making this, but wish I had. It is not necessary to include the extra salt, as the soup and cheese have enough salt to make this recipe perfect. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was incredible. I did make some changes. I used cheddar, mozzarella, and colbyjack cheeses just because I happened to have them on hand. I used New York Texas Seasoned croutons and they were so good on it. So good. There were a lot of reviews that did not like the amount of salt and pepper, but I found it tasty. If you know you don't care for a lot of salt and pepper, just don't put as much in. Trust yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
wonderful! Used only 2 heads of broccoli, added some milk to the soup along with 2 cloves of pressed garlic. Omitted the butter and added paprika instead. Husband couldn't some commenting about how good it was! He took the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIMPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States