Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this recipe as stated..Did not change a thing. Way too much pepper, to the point it was not edible!! and Way too much salt. I usually read the reviews and sometimes I make adjustments....I should have read the reviews...It has great potential but making this as stated...FORGET IT! What a disappointment for Thanksgiving Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe is delicious! Wonderful flavor of broccoli and cheese. The topping really added to the flavor of the dish. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Apple

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love broccolli but this one was waaay to salty for me (I did follow the recipe exactly) and I was unsure if I should add a cup of water with the condensed soup (so I didnt) and the mixture just seemed to thick and not enough to coat. I will make this again but use no salt and more cheese and I think that will make it perfect. Thank you for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
With recipe as written I give it 3 stars due to WAY too much pepper and a little too much salt. I honestly think 1/2 tsp pepper would be enough for this dish. Unfortunately I forgot to re-read the reviews right before making the dish. My judgement told me to put less pepper in, but then I followed the recipe because I don't like to make any alterations the first time around. As soon as I stirred it in I knew it was a mistake as the whole sauce turned from orangey-yellow to a greyish color. It was very salty as well, but I can deal with that. Changing the pepper to 1/2-1 tsp and the salt to maybe 1 tsp would make this a 5-star dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tchilvere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Really easy. I used 2 cups sharp cheddar, 1/2 sauteed onion, and 1/2 cup low fat sour cream. Did not add salt, as recommended by others. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I followed some of the recommendations made and this turned out very good. I used cream of celery soup, sharp cheddar, and ritz crackers. Also added NO salt. I would make it exactly the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Yummy comfort food. Not great for the waistline though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I used slices of Kraft singles American cheese. about 8 of them. and I added some sliced mushrooms. Instead of the topping, I crumbled cooked turkey bacon over the top. If you boil or steam the broccoli a little longer, you don't have to cook it as long. I baked mine for 15 minutes so the mushrooms could soften, but since everything is cooked and then added to the same dish, you really don't have to bake it if you don't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Good recipe. A little too much salt and pepper for me, so I toned those down a notch. But otherwise wonderful. Made this with cream of chicken soup also once. Substituted Velveeta cheese in one occasion too. Still turned out well. Great base with room to play.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
So good - but WAY too much salt! I didn't read the reviews before making this, but wish I had. It is not necessary to include the extra salt, as the soup and cheese have enough salt to make this recipe perfect. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States