Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Based on other reviews, I tried this dish for Thanksgiving instead of the family recipe we traditionally served every year. My family loved it! The only changes I made were to use cream of celery soup, and stuffing mix for the topping, as those were the ingredients I had on hand. Personally, I think I'd prefer the cracker topping, but my family insists I don't change a thing next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used cheddar instead of american cheese. Instead of using the butter to coat the croutons, I mixed it in with the melted cheese and cream of mushroom soup. I didn't boil the broccoli in saltwater. They way I did it was excellent and everybody liked it at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I have made this recipe a bunch of times and every time I make it I add less and less pepper. Use around a 1/4 of a tsp. Otherwise it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I love this! I did make a few flavor changes here you go... you have to try Progresso's new Italian Panko bread crumbs. Oh My.... I was licking the spoon For the cheese, add a little parmesan in to replace some of the salt, the cheese and soup have enough For your broccoli, add a little chicken broth and garlic salt to the water for extra flavor I added a splash of milk when melting my cheese which was a cheddar and mozzarella mix add an extra cup of cheese on top before bread crumbs with an extra tablespoon of melted butter Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
What a great way to eat broccoli! I used a two 12 oz. bags of fresh Dole broccoli (no chopping needed). Instead of boiling broccoli I steamed it for a minute. I also added about 1/4 cup half & half. Decided like others to use ritz crackers in stead of bread crumbs. First thing my hubby said was mmmm--it's hard to get much out of him & he's a tough critic, so that meant he really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This recipe is simple and yummy. I did 2 things differently. First, I ran out of cheddar, so I used Velveeta. Second, I didn't add any salt. The dish turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Good stuff. I substituted ritz crackers for the croutons. This is definitely a keeper, especially if you love steamed brocolli and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was good! NO NEED TO ADD SALT THOUGH! I didn't and it was FINE. I used sharp cheddar AND American cheese, a sprinkle of onion powder, basil and I used town house butter crackers instead of bread crumbs. I used cream of chicken soup cuz its all I had and it came out good. I'll make this again from time to time for something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
My husband said this was the best casserole dish ever. This really was excellent but only after I made a few changes. I used cream of celery soup, a little milk, cheddar cheese and a package of Uncle Ben's 90-second steamed rice. I didn't like the sound of crushed croutons so I replaced them with Ritz crackers and melted butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States