Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is one recipe where it really pays to read peoples reviews. As so many other people said, it's entirely too much salt. I used only a pinch of sea salt. I also used a sharp cheddar cheese in addition to the American. I found Ritz crackers were tastier than the croutons, and adding a 1/4 cup of half-and-half to the soup and cheese mix made it a bit creamier. Overall, a very good casserole, just remember a small pinch of salt is all it needs. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K. Fruchtman
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very good. I've tried 2 other broccoli casserole recipes from this website and this one is by far the best. Unlike the other recipes, this once calls for fresh broccoli, which by far is much tastier than the frozen kind, which comes mostly in chopped up little stems. I used cream of celery and mushroom, and prefer the celery- which has a lighter flavor. And 1 cup of cheddar was plenty of cheese. I followed another reviewer's tip and use just a pinch of salt and 1/2 of the pepper, which is much better. Overall, a great, fresh tasting dish and not too salty or rich. I used buttered Ritz crackers instead of croutons-- much tastier. This one is a keeper. My 4 and 1 yr. loved it- and that's all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this for a 25th wedding anniversary party and it turned out awesome!!! Not a word or a lie, every female at the party was begging me for the recipe. It was gobbled up in minutes. I made a lot of changes though, so heres what I did. I used just half a tsp of salt instead of one and a half, added a can of cream of chicken soup as well as used cream of mushroom and garlic instead of regular cream of mushroom. I added a cup and a half of fresh mushrooms, sliced and a pound of crispy bacon, crumbled. For the topping, I used crushed Ritz crackers and a quarter cup of grated parmesan cheese instead of the croutons. Oh, and I used 3 cups of cheddar cheese instead of 8 ounces of american. Absolutely to die for!!! will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This is the first thing to disappear at family dinners! I add 1/4 cup half and half to the soup and cheese mixture so there is a little more sauce. I use Ritz crackers instead of croutons, and add some cheddar to the American cheese for extra zip. I have also used half broccoli and half cauliflower. Thanks Kaylee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
I LOVED THIS RECIPE!! Let me explain something here...I am one of the most pick eaters in the world, but this this was really good! I did alter it just a bit though. I boiled my broccoli with butter and garlic. Next, instead of the American cheese, I used cheddar and I also used the ritzs crackers. Oh yeah, I added a little (and I mean little) bit of garlic powder and about 1/4 cup milk.(The mix of soup and cheese seemed to thick for me)IT TURNED OUT VERY CREAMY AND THE TASTE OF FRESH CRACKED PEPPER.....YUMMY :o) I am attending a X-mas dinner party on the 24th and this is the vegetable dish that I will be bringing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I made this dish yesterday for Thanksgiving and it was delicious. I followed many of the suggestions from previous posts. I added a half cup of milk to the soup, used only a sprinkle of salt and pepper and baked it in a deeper&smaller casserole dish instead of a 9x13 pan. I covered it in crushed stuffing instead of crutons. It was not too salty and was moist without being soupy. Thanks for all the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Yumm! This was awesome. I made it for my husband and I for dinner. This was wonderful and so easy to make. Good enough to sit down and eat a large bowl of this for dinner and nothing else. I did not have the croutons, therefore left them out. However, I did add 1/2 cup fresh mushrooms to the sauce. It was delicious. I would cut the pepper amount in half next time. It was a little warm. Other than that it was great. Next time I may add some penne pasta and bite size chicken pieces. Would make a great pasta! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This would get 4 1/2 stars if I could do that. Eat it up the first day because it is mush when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This had way too much pepper for my taste. It seemed that was the only dominant flavor. I would make it again, but with much less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
i would never ever make this again. well, I'm not much of a broccoli person so maybe thats why it didnt hit the spot. I would suggest this to people who like broccoli ONLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States