Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was very good, I made with brocolli and cauliflower. Cut back to 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper and add 1/2 tsp each of garlic and onion powder plus several good shakes of tabasco - just our preference for seasoning. I still felt like it was missing something so I sauted 1/2 of a chopped onion and added that. Used 1/2 american cheese slices and half sharp chedder. I needed to add 1/4 cup of milk to get everything to combine - zapped it all in the mircrowave right in the casserole dish while the brocolli was steaming. Topped with crushed cheese crackers because thats all I had. I will use this modified version from now on - it was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have been making this for years. It has become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was just OK for me...nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
No offense to Aunt Millie, but I was hoping this would be like the dish we used to have at all our family dinners when I was growing up, but it wasn't. Not 'bad', but will keep searching. Was too salty in my opinion and could use rice mixed in. Was too close to just melted cheese over broccoli, but thank you for submitting just the same! To each his own! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
After reading a couple of reviews and using the advice, this dish came out very well. I added the half and half to make it creamier, used Ritz crackers instead of the croutons and way more cheese. Really was a simple but excellent tasting recipe. May experiment next time and add garlic, onions and/or cauliflower but great recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I thought it was great so did all of my family! It was the best dish of the day! I am just sorry I don't have any leftovers! I used a whole bag (2 cups) of cheddar and cream of celery. I used no salt and just a dash of pepper and worcestershire sauce for a kick. I poured the 3 T melted butter on top of the crushed ritz crackers (not croutons) and it was done in about 25 minutes. Not only will I be making this for every holiday dinner but I will be making it lots and lots in between also! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taylor Mill, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is basically the same recipe my family has used for years. With a few changes. Just use a pinch of salt. For the topping we saute a small onion in a couple tablespoons of butter, when onion is soft add crushed ritz or saltine crackers and toast lightly. Then put that on top it really makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
One word = YUM! I used bread crumbs instead of croutons and just placed pats of butter all over the crumbs! SOOOOO good! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was a very strange broccoli casserole. Way too much pepper for one thing. I'll pass on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is good! I used two bags of frozen chopped broccoli and added a half cup of milk to the sauce mix. No need for salt because the soup is full of it. Black and red pepper to taste and a little garlic salt. I used cheese its for my topping since that is what I had on hand and it turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States