Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was incredible. I did make some changes. I used cheddar, mozzarella, and colbyjack cheeses just because I happened to have them on hand. I used New York Texas Seasoned croutons and they were so good on it. So good. There were a lot of reviews that did not like the amount of salt and pepper, but I found it tasty. If you know you don't care for a lot of salt and pepper, just don't put as much in. Trust yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
wonderful! Used only 2 heads of broccoli, added some milk to the soup along with 2 cloves of pressed garlic. Omitted the butter and added paprika instead. Husband couldn't some commenting about how good it was! He took the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIMPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great replacement for Broccoli & Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Very easy and pretty good. I used the cheese I had, sharp and coby. I used Ritz instead of crutons, because that is what we had. I also added a little cheese to the top. Turned out great. Next time I will add more broc and maybe mushrooms. Thanks for shareing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelDunbar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I love this dish! Its so simple but so good! I make as a sidedish or maindish. I replace the crutons with crushed cheese crackers. Try adding pre-cookes chicken for a yummy and quick maindish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is so good.. I love broccoli and this recipe made it even better. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup the second time making this so I used cream of chicken which turned out so good.. I prefer the cream of chicken soup better. I did lower the salt both times and glad I did the soups have a salt taste which gives it enough. The 2nd try I added 1 tsp. italian seasoning to my bread crumb mixture. I will add the extra seasonings from now on it gave it that ump I thought it was missing.. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was very, very good - although I did alter the recipe based on other reviews. I used cream of celery instead of mushroom, I used about 1 cup of white cheddar in place of the American cheese and I used crushed Ritz crackers mixed with melted butter for the topping. The end result was delicous and my 4 year old ate it - which is a very good sign. We will make this again for sure - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Made this Christmas Day. Had to bring a vegetable side dish. Was really good! Even had a, "This was really good, how did you make it?" I used the suggestions of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken, 3 cups of cheddar cheese and used 1/2 cup to a cup of half n half when mixing the cheese together with the creams. I used another suggestion of adding crumbled bacon to the topping. I used the drippings from the bacon and from another suggestion, sauted the finely chopped onions and finely chopped mushrooms, 3 or 4 mushrooms, not to much. Then from another suggestion, threw in two sleeves of the crushed Ritz Crackers and sauteed that with onions and mushrooms and added the 4 tablespoons of butter. Most of the work was after steaming the four heads of broccoli. The chopping and peeling off the layer of skin was a bit of work but, worth it. Thanks to ALL for your suggestions, LOL! It was a hit! P.S used only a little bit of pepper, yes..from another suggestion. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I felt like the flavors competed with each other and didn't really mesh well. The topping was unnecessary in my opinion. The broccoli was cooked perfectly, but it could have done without the pepper and about half of the cheese. I might make again with radical changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
DELICOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brit B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States