Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I'm rating this recipe based on how I made it, which was based on the reviews of others. I used only 1/4 tsp. of salt, used ritz crackers instead of the croutons, and used cream of celery instead of mushroom. It is a solid recipe and definitely one to keep. My hubby gave it two thumbs up. I would agree, although to give it five stars, it needs just a little something to put it over-the-top. I might try adding a bit of Worcestershire Sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great recipe. I skipped the salt since condensed soup is already salty. Then added 2/3 C milk to the soup/cheese mixture, used Cheddar instead of American, and added a couple cups of cooked brown rice. Topped with cracker crumbs instead of croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knightstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great side dish. I would agree with the others, do not add extra salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about how good it was! Thanks for the recipe. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe was a HIT at a party last night. Every bit was eaten and everyone commented on how good it was and asked for the recipe. The fresh broccoli is key. I didn't put any salt in it and halved the pepper. I added half a container of sour cream to the soup mixture and a splash of milk, and of course, I added extra cheese (cheddar, not American). For the topping, I used a stick of melted butter and a sleeve of crushed ritz crackers. You have to try this kind! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I used cheddar cheese and added a little Pappy's seasoning and it was great! I too used the ritz crackers for the topping, but could see how the dressing on top could be probably just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talkin T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a great side dish for my Thanksgiving feast. I also tweaked the recipe according to the many comments I read -- just a pinch of salt and pepper. I also planned to use cream of celery, but when I got to the grocery store I noticed a can of Campbell's broccoli cheese soup right next to it, and I thought "why not? how bad can it be?" Well it was FANTASTIC. I hardly had to use any additional cheese because the flavor of the soup was so cheesy already. Just about 1/2 cup of shredded sharp cheddar, and a little milk to thin out the soup. I also used Reduced Fat Ritz crackers. It was fantastic! I found myself devouring this first, even before the turkey. This dish was the first one to go -- NO leftovers--which made me a little sad, but I will definitely be making this again soon. So simple and a total crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Based on other reviews, I tried this dish for Thanksgiving instead of the family recipe we traditionally served every year. My family loved it! The only changes I made were to use cream of celery soup, and stuffing mix for the topping, as those were the ingredients I had on hand. Personally, I think I'd prefer the cracker topping, but my family insists I don't change a thing next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used cheddar instead of american cheese. Instead of using the butter to coat the croutons, I mixed it in with the melted cheese and cream of mushroom soup. I didn't boil the broccoli in saltwater. They way I did it was excellent and everybody liked it at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States